Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

Frank W. Haydu III, Massachusetts' acting education commissioner until the month began has donated $15,000 to Jeremiah Burke High School in Boston. The money will be used for summer education programs for the teachers at the 637-student school.

Mr. Haydu, who took over as interim commissioner in March, announced on July 1 that he was stepping down effective immediately.

At the time of his appointment, Mr. Haydu promised to donate his $140,000 annual salary to the state's public schools. The state chief and his wife, Nancy, recently gave $10,000 to Boston's Timilty Middle School for its arts program.

The Education Commission of the States has tapped Kentucky Gov. Paul E. Patton to become its chairman for 1998-99. Mr. Patton, a Democrat,was scheduled to take over from Iowa Gov. Terry E. Branstad, a Republican, this week.

Gov. Paul E. Patton

As the chairman of the Denver-based organization that helps governors, state education officials, and legislators develop improved education policies, Mr. Patton will work to re-examine the role of postsecondary education. ... The commission also has honored Robert E. Slavin with the James Bryant Conant Award, named for the late ECS co-founder and president of Harvard University. Mr. Slavin is the chairman of Success for All, a widely used program that stresses early literacy skills. He is also the principal research scientist and co-director of the Center for Research on the Education of Students at Risk, located at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore.

Mr. Slavin was given the annual award, established in 1977, for his contributions to education and his work with at-risk children.

Members of the Alexandria, Va.-based National Association of Elementary School Principals this month elected Carol "Lynn" Babcock as the 1998-99 president-elect.

She is the principal of Grant Elementary School in Livonia, Mich. In 1988, the school she then led, Sunset Lake Elementary in Vicksburg, Mich., was named a blue-ribbon school by the U.S. Department of Education. That same year, she was named to the "Executive Educator 100" list by the National School Boards Association. She assumes her duties as NAESP president next July.

--ADRIENNE D. COLES [email protected]

Vol. 17, Issue 42, Page 5

Published in Print: July 8, 1998, as People

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories