Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

In the Districts

Vivian Shannon, from principal, Centinela Elementary School, Inglewood, Calif., to board member, Los Angeles County Board of Education.

Donald L. Trigg, from assistant superintendent, Visalia Unified School District, Visalia, Calif., to deputy superintendent.

In the Associations

Michael Baer, provost and senior vice president, Northeastern University, Boston, to senior vice president, American Council on Education, Washington.

Kathryn Blumsack, coordinator, School Improvement Training Unit, Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, Md., to president, National Staff Development Council, Oxford, Ohio.

Lois B. DeFleur, president, State University of New York at Binghamton, to chairwoman of the board, American Council on Education, Washington.

Marlene M. Johnson, from vice president, Rowe Furniture Corp., Richmond, Va., to executive director, National Association for Foreign Student Affairs: Association of International Educators, Washington.

Naomi McKenzie, president, Marriott School Services, Washington, to trustee, National School Boards Foundation, Washington.

Gayle Moller, executive director, South Florida Center for Executive Educators, Barry University, Davie, Fla., to board of trustees, National Staff Development Council, Oxford, Ohio.

Carole Schmidt, principal, Palo Verde High Magnet School, Tucson, Ariz., to board of trustees, National Staff Development Council, Oxford, Ohio.

Arthur Stellar, superintendent, Kingston School District, Kingston, N.Y., to board member, National Dropout Prevention Network, Clemson University, Clemson, S.C.

The Association of Science-Technology Centers, Washington, has elected four new officers. They are: Jeffrey N. Rudolph, California Science Center, Los Angeles, president; Gail R. Becker, Louisville Science Center, Louisville, Ky., vice president; David W. Ellis, Museum of Science, Boston, vice president; Walter R.T. Witschey, Science Museum of Virginia, Richmond, Va., secretary-treasurer.

Other Appointments

Frederick H. Dietrich, from vice president, the College Board, New York City, to senior vice president.

K. Dianne Katzenmoyer, from assistant to the superintendent, Westerville City Schools, Westerville, Ohio, to educational liaison and editor, School Match, Westerville.

Harold McGraw III, from chief operating officer, McGraw-Hill Companies, New York City, to chief executive officer.

Judith D. Moore, from president, National Industries for the Blind, Alexandria, Va., to chief executive officer, Chauncey Group International, Princeton, N.J.

Gretchen Rigol, from college-admissions director, the College Board, New York City, to vice president.

The Foundation for Excellent Schools, Middlebury, Vt., has appointed two new board members. They are: Albert R. Dowden, chief executive officer, Volvo Group North America, New York City; Harold Howe II, former U.S. commissioner of education and a professor emeritus, Harvard University graduate school of education, Cambridge, Mass.

Web Only

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories