Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

The Durham, N.C., school board has decided to add a year to Superintendent Ann Denlinger's contract. The board voted 5-2 last week to extend Ms. Denlinger's contract through June 2001.

Because she has not been with the system an entire school year, the board declined to give the superintendent a performance bonus, according to a spokeswoman for the board. Her contract includes a possible annual bonus of up to 5 percent of her $140,000 salary.

Ms. Denlinger came to the 29,000-student school system last March.

Christopher Colin Mihelich of Carmel, Ind., took home the top prize from the Westinghouse Science Talent Search in Washington last week.

The 17-year-old submitted a mathematics project to win a $40,000 scholarship in the 57-year-old national competition, whose previous winners include five Nobel laureates.

Christopher Colin Mihelich

The young mathematician began taking high-level math courses as an 8th grader. Mr. Mihelich is graduating as a junior, first in his class at Park Tudor School in Indianapolis, and has perfect SAT scores.

Second place and a $30,000 scholarship went to Ravi Vikram Shah, a 17-year-old from Tempe, Ariz., who studied drug resistance in cancer chemotherapy. The third-place award and a $20,000 scholarship went to Parker Rouse Conrad from New York City, also 17, who entered a physiology project on nerve synapse receptors.

The competition is financed by the Pittsburgh-based Westinghouse Foundation and conducted by Science Service, a nonprofit organization based in Washington that seeks to advance understanding of science. ... The science bowl team from T.C. Williams High School in Alexandria, Va., will not only represent Virginia in the National Science Bowl in Washington this May, but it also beat out one of the best science schools in the nation to do it.

Last week, the team of five won against Fairfax County, Va.'s Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, which has won the state honor five times.

The National Science Bowl competition is hosted annually by the U.S. Department of Energy. Forty-five regional teams will compete for the grand prize of a trip to a conference of Nobel laureates in Lindau, Germany.

--ADRIENNE D. COLES [email protected]

Web Only

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories