Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints


The California Schoolmaster Club, San Francisco, has selected two administrators for the 1997 California Schoolmaster of the Year award. They are: Margaret Garza Wells, director, educational placement center, San Francisco Unified School District, and Peter K. Yan, assistant principal, Lincoln High School, San Francisco.


Continental Cablevision Inc. of Boston has honored 18 educators with its National Educator Award for their creativity in using cable television technology and programming to enhance their students' learning. The honorees are:

Muriel Branch, Thompson Middle School, Richmond, Va.; Laurel Ann Coates, Taylor Magnet School, Stockton, Calif.; David Debs, Mandarin High School, Jacksonville, Fla.; Linda Fryer and Andy Szadyr, Lessenger Elementary School, Madison Heights, Mich.; Betsy Harlan, Wickliffe Elementary School, Wickliffe, Ohio; John Hartman, Visitation Elementary School, Kewanee, Ill.; Nancy Hatalsky, Hiller Elementary School, Madison Heights, Mich.; Keith Mann, Township High School, Arlington Heights, Ill.

Jane McCaffery, Lincoln St. School & Main St. School, Exeter, N.H.; Gwendy Millward, Quiet Waters Elementary School, Deerfield Beach, Fla.; Ellen Morton, Robert J. Burch Elementary School, Tyrone, Ga.; Linda Nimer, Wawona Middle School, Fresno, Calif.; Lynne Nolan, Sea Gate Elementary School, Naples, Fla.; Jacqueline Simms, Sandlewood High School, Jacksonville, Fla.; Douglas Sterling, Walker Junior High School, LaPalma, Calif. SusanSzachowicz, Brockton High School, Brockton, Mass.; Barbara Winkfield, Birney Middle School, Southfield, Mich.


The American Association of School Administrators has awarded the 1997 Shirley Cooper Award for an outstanding school facility project to the firms of Hammel Green and Abrahamson, Minneaopolis, Minn., and Rancorn Wildman Krause Brezinski Architects, Newport News, Va. The firms were recognized for their work on Heritage and Woodside high schools in Newport News, Va.


The National Association of Secondary School Principals has awarded its Distinguished Service Award to U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley, gun-control activists James and Sarah Brady, and the Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids.


The New York Institute of Technology and the Oracle Corp. of Redwood City, Calif., has honored seven schools and organizations with the 1997 Oracle/NYIT Innovations in Education Award for their pioneering programs in technology-enhanced learning. The winners are:

Central Park East Secondary School, New York City; The Brotherhood, New York City; Metropolitan Regional Career and Technical Center, Providence, R.I.; Bank Street College of Education/Pittsburgh Collaboration, Pittsburgh, Pa.; Freedoms Foundation, Valley Forge, Pa.; the COVIS Project, Chicago, Ill.; and Austin T. Waldon School, Atlanta, Ga.


The Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Teachers Network has awarded its 1997 Pathfinder Awards in four categories. The awards recognize individuals and groups for outstanding contributions to combating anti-gay bias in schools. The winners, by category, are:

Community activist: Johnathan Rotenberg, Boston, Mass. Educator: Kaye Peterson, Salt Lake City, Utah. Organization: Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, New York City and Safe Schools Coalition of Washington State. Student: Miquel Ayala, Chicago, Ill., and the East High School Gay-Straight Alliance, Salt Lake City, Utah.


Time magazine and the American Association of School Administrators has awarded the Outstanding Leadership in Voter Education Award to six school districts nationwide. The award went to:

Austin Independendent School District, Texas; Fort Bend Independent School District, Texas; Hessen District (U.S. Department of Defense Dependents Schools), Germany; Northside Independent School District, Texas; Pasedena Unified School District/Pasadena League of Women Voters, California; and Sheridan County School District #1, Wyoming.


James R. Whiteman, social studies supervisor, Fulton County Educational Service Center, Wauseon, Ohio, has been named the 1996 National Social Studies Supervisor of the Year by the National Social Studies Supervisor Association.

North AlleghenySchool District, Wexford, Pa., has been awarded the Serious Commitment Award by the Greater Pittsburgh (Pa.) Quest for Quality Network. The awards were established to encourage continuous improvement in all organizations in the Pittsburgh area.

Web Only

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories