Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints

The American Association of School Administrators has whittled the list of the nation's school district chiefs down to four in its annual quest to honor the Superintendent of the Year. The finalists are Kathleen M. Brochu, of the 6,054-student Sumter County schools in Americus, Ga.; John Hodges Jones, of the 5,400-student Murfreesboro, Tenn., schools; John R. O'Rourke, the superintendent of the 5,400-student Pittsford, N.Y., district; and Betty S. Poindexter, of the 2,590-student Community School Corporation of Southern Hancock County in New Palestine, Ind.

Nominees were submitted from each state and from the U.S. Department of Defense Education Activity schools. The annual program is co-sponsored by the Arlington, Va.-based association and by the ServiceMaster Co., a franchise service company based in Downers Grove, Ill.

The winner will be announced Feb. 14 during the AASA's annual conference in Orlando, Fla.

The National Catholic Educational Association has named Sister Lourdes Sheehan as the executive director of its department of chief administrators. She succeeds Frank X. Savage, who is stepping down to become the director of education and lifelong formation in the Diocese of Birmingham, Ala. Sister Sheehan is currently the director of the Alliance for Catholic Education at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Ind.

WestEd, a federally funded agency that specializes in education research, development, and services to educators, has named Edwin C. Meyers its interim chief executive officer. Mr. Meyers, a deputy director at San Francisco-based WestEd, is expected to serve as CEO through May while the agency seeks a permanent replacement.

--ADRIENNE D. COLES [email protected]

Web Only

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories