Honors & Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments


The U.S. Department of Education and the National Association of Elementary School Principals, along with Variable Annuity Life Insurance Co., have named 59 elementary and middle school principals nationwide as the 1996 National Distinguished Principals. The annual program recognizes public and private school principals who have made outstanding contributions to their schools and communities. The honorees and their schools are listed below by state or other category.

Alabama. Jeanette L. Bell, University Place Montessori Center, Tuscaloosa. Alaska. Kathleen D. Benson, Emily Ticasuk Ivanoff Brown Elementary School, Fairbanks. Arizona. Peter J. Turner, Liberty Elementary School, Buckeye. Arkansas. Ila L. Newberry, J.W. Baker Elementary School, Little Rock. California. Michael A. Bossi, Placer Hills Elementary School, Meadow Vista. Colorado. Bonnie L. Grigg, Northside Elementary School, Montrose. Connecticut. Robin B. Blaschke, Stanley T. Williams Elementary School, Northford. Delaware. Karol Z. Powers-Case, Thurgood Marshall Elementary School, Newark.

District of Columbia. Nancy R. Shannon, Merritt Elementary Extended School, Washington. Florida. Martha F. Hood, Pinecrest Elementary School, Lithia. Georgia. Janice A. Fletcher, Nicholson Elementary School, Marietta. Hawaii. Louise P. Wolcott, Blanche Pope Elementary School, Waimanalo. Idaho. Wayne J. Waddoups, Thirkill Elementary School, Soda Springs. Illinois. Paula L. Bouck, Dorris Elementary School, Collinsville. Indiana. Thomas J. Mellish, Sugar Creek, Crawfordsville. Iowa. M. Sue Denny, John F. Lawson Elementary School, Johnston.

Kansas. William A. King, Westside Elementary School, Pittsburg. Kentucky. Rick E. McHargue, Crestwood Elementary School, Crestwood. Louisiana. Catherine E. Stockton, Shady Grove Accelerated School, Monroe. Maine. Steven W. Bailey, Dora L. Small School, South Portland. Maryland. Lucy W. Marr, Kettering Elementary School, Upper Marlboro. Massachusetts. Richard C. Raiche, Comprehensive Grammar School, Methuen. Michigan. Mary Ann Raske, Carman Park Elementary School, Flint. Minnesota. Jeffrey C. Raison, Dowling Urban Environmental Learning Center, Minneapolis.

Mississippi. Lonnie Pat Reed, Franklin Lower Elementary School, Meadville. Missouri. Janet S. Marriott, Webster Elementary School, St. Joseph. Montana. Richard A. Jonasen, Dillon Elementary School, Dillon. Nebraska. Scott E. Dodson, Woodland Park Elementary School, Norfolk. Nevada. Teddie L. Brewer, Nate Mack Elementary School, Henderson. New Hampshire. Michael E. Tocci, Gilford Elementary School, Gilford. New Jersey. Theodore T. Arnold, Pinebrook Elementary School, Lincoln Park. New Mexico. Donna S. McGee, Cloudcroft Elementary/Middle School, Cloudcroft.

New York. Octavia P. Wilcox, Porter Magnet School, Syracuse. North Carolina. Jo Ann C. Bowman, J. Glenn Edwards Elementary School, Sanford. North Dakota. William J. Schumacher, Hillsboro Elementary School, Hillsboro. Ohio. William R. Parschen, C.R. Towslee Elementary School, Brunswick. Oklahoma. Elizabeth L. McIlvain, Eugene Field Elementary School, Tulsa. Oregon. Marion R. Morehouse, Buckingham Elementary School, Bend. Pennsylvania. Sonya K. Cole, Delaware Valley Elementary School, Milford. Rhode Island. Barry J. Ricci, Western Coventry School, Coventry.

South Carolina. Nancy J. Farnsworth, Westcliffe Elementary School, Greenville. South Dakota. Marly J. Wilson, Mellette Elementary School, Watertown. Tennessee. M. Kay Awalt, Moore Elementary School, Franklin. Texas. Julia A. Lyda, Grapevine Elementary School, Grapevine. Utah. Marilyn B. Oberg, Samuel Morgan Elementary School, Kaysville. Vermont. Lynn A. McMorris, The Pomfret School, Pomfret. Virginia. Crawford G. Ellsworth, James Hurst Elementary School, Portsmouth. Washington. John R. Richardson, Sunnyslope Community School, Port Orchard. West Virginia. Leonard J. Allen, Elk Elementary Center, Charleston. Wisconsin. Cheryl M. Esch, Red Apple School, Racine. Wyoming. Walter W. Wragge, Meadowlark Elementary School, Sheridan.

Private schools. Charles E. Jedele, Topeka Lutheran School, Topeka, Kan.; Sister Mary Carol Gentile, St. Rocco School, Johnston, R.I.; Sister Emelda Moriarty, St. Catherine of Siena School, Metairie, La.; Sister Elizabeth Dawn Gear, The Archbishop Thomas A. Donnellan School, Atlanta, Ga.

Department of Defense. Vicki P. Rogers, Hebert J. Dexter School, Fort Benning, Ga.; Rosemarie D. Arnestad, Amelia Earhart Intermediate School, Kadena Air Base, Okinawa.

Department of State Overseas Schools. Richard Spradling, American Cooperative School of Tunis, Tunisia; Monica Medina-Olds, Cotopaxi Academy, Quito, Ecuador.


The National Council of Negro Women has honored seven teachers with its Excellence in Teaching Award for 1996. The award pays tribute to teachers who work to instill in African-Americans the importance of education. There is one national winner and six regional winners. The recipients and their schools are:

National winner. Linda S. Alston, Hallett Science/Technology Academy, Denver, Colo. Regional winners. Patricia Duncan Bradford, Lemon G. Hine Junior High School, Washington, D.C.; Yvonne Carter, Grantosa Drive School, Milwaukee, Wis.; Sharon M. Draper, Walnut Hills High School, Cincinnati, Ohio; John D. Hamilton, Wright Middle School, Nashville, Tenn.; Felecia Piggot McMillan, Mount Tabor High School, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Bennie Malroy Sheppard, High School for Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice, Houston, Texas.


Six school principals have been awarded the 1996 Patrick Francis Daly Memorial Award for Excellence in Education. The award, presented by the Yale University Child Study Center School Development Program, is given to people whose outstanding educational leadership can provide inspiration and example to principals across the country. The recipients and their schools are:

Rodger J. Cunningham, Jackson Academic Enrichment Academy, San Diego; Yvette Douglas, The Bedford Village School, P.S. 3K, Brooklyn, N.Y.; Gandy A. Heaston, Haines Elementary School, Chicago, Ill.; Edward Jefferson, Thurgood Marshall Elementary School, Seattle, Wash.; Sharon Quarles, Barnaby Manor Elementary School, Oxon Hill, Md.; Nancy Shannon, Merritt Elementary Extended School, Washington, D.C.

Vol. 16, Issue 04

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories