Education Roster

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Recent appointments have changed the roster of the top state education leaders. The following is a current list of appointed and elected schools chiefs.

State Schools       Chief

Alabama             Edward R. Richardson
Alaska              Shirley J. Holloway
Arizona             Lisa Graham Keegan
Arkansas            Gene Whilhoit
California          Delaine Eastin
Colorado            William T. Randall
Connecticut         Theodore D. Sergi
Delaware            Pascal D. Forgione Jr.*
Florida             Frank T. Brogan
Georgia             Linda Schrenko
Hawaii              Herman M. Aizawa
Idaho               Anne C. Fox
Illinois            Joseph A. Spagnolo Jr.
Indiana             Suellen K. Reed
Iowa                Frederick M. Stilwill
Kansas              John A. Tompkins
Kentucky            Wilmer S. Cody
Louisiana           Cecil Picard
Maine               Wayne L. Mowatt
Maryland            Nancy S. Grasmick
Massachusetts       Robert V. Antonucci
Michigan            Arthur E. Ellis
Minnesota           Bruce H. Johnson
Mississippi         Tom Burnham
Missouri            Robert E. Bartman
Montana             Nancy Keenan
Nebraska            Douglas Christensen
Nevada              Mary L. Peterson
New Hampshire       Elizabeth M. Twomey
New Jersey          Leo F. Klagholz
New Mexico          Alan D. Morgan
New York            Richard P. Mills
North Carolina      Richard Thompson*
North Dakota        Wayne G. Sanstead
Ohio                John M. Goff
Oklahoma            Sandy Garrett
Oregon              Norma Paulus
Pennsylvania        Eugene W. Hickok Jr.
Rhode Island        Peter McWalters
South Carolina      Barbara Stock Nielsen
South Dakota        Karon L. Schaack
Tennessee           Ada Jane Walters
Texas               Mike Moses
Utah                Scott W. Bean
Vermont             Douglas R. Walker*
Virginia            William C. Bosher Jr.*
Washington          Judith A. Billings
West Virginia       Henry R. Marockie
Wisconsin           John T. Benson
Wyoming             Judy Catchpole

* Delaware is seeking a successor to Mr. Forgione, who has been appointed to a federal post; in North Carolina, Bob Ethridge is the elected schools chief, but Mr. Thompson is fulfilling the duties of the post due to a change in law. In Vermont, Mr. Walker is the interim chief. And in Virginia, Mr. Bosher announced last week that he is resigning.

Vol. 15, Issue 33

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories