Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Elaine B. Griffin has been named the 1995 National Teacher of the Year. Ms. Griffin, a teacher at Kodiak Island Chiniak School in Alaska, was honored in a ceremony in the Rose Garden at the White House April 27, where President Clinton presented her with a crystal apple.

Ms. Griffin is in her 14th year at the 37-student, grades 4-10 school located in a remote village on the island. She, her husband, Ned, and the school's other three teachers team-teach all subjects.

In being chosen for the award, Ms. Griffin was praised for helping bring a culturally relevant curriculum to the school and with designing more effective school programs for the students.

"We were able to combine subjects with respect for local values," Ms. Griffin said last week. "The community is the real reason I got the award--the school is not something separate that kids come to for eight hours at a time."

The National Teacher of the Year is chosen from among the Teachers of the Year from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Defense Department schools, and five other jurisdictions. The Council of Chief State School Officers and Scholastic Inc. sponsor the program.

Homer Kearns has been named the president of the Arlington, Va.-based American Association of School Administrators. Mr. Kearns is the superintendent of Salem-Keizer Public Schools in Salem, Ore....Gov. Gaston Caperton of West Virginia has appointed Arthur Recht to the state supreme court. The former circuit court judge wrote landmark opinions on school funding in West Virginia. In 1982, Judge Recht ruled that the state's school system was unconstitutional. He ordered the state to equalize funding among the county school systems to insure a "fair and equal education" to all students. He will replace Richard Neely, who is retiring.

Alice Stone Ilchman has been elected the chairwoman of the board of trustees of the Rockefeller Foundation. She is the president of Sarah Lawrence College in Bronxville, N.Y. The New York City-based foundation awards nearly $95 million annually in grants and fellowships for many programs, including school reform.

--Adrienne D. Coles

Vol. 14, Issue 32

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories