People Column

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Arthur Levine was inaugurated last week as the ninth president of Columbia University's Teachers College. Mr. Levine, the former president of Bradford College in Bradford, Mass., replaces P. Michael Timpane, who resigned in June. "It is time for education schools to accept the challenge of rebuilding education in America," Mr. Levine said in his inaugural address. "The nation is in desperate need of the leadership Teachers College has historically provided." ... President Clinton has appointed Patricia Fleming to be the new national aids-policy director. Ms. Fleming has been the acting director since Kristine M. Gebbie stepped down in August. ... The Humane Society of the United States has named Patricia Forkan as the president of its youth-education division, the National Association for Humane and Environmental Education. Ms. Forkan, the executive vice president of the h.s.u.s. and a senior vice president of the Humane Society International, is a specialist in marine-mammal protection.

U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley has appointed four new members to the National Assessment Governing Board. They are: Patsy Cavazos, the principal of W.G. Love Accelerated Elementary School in Houston; Catherine L. Davidson, the director of secondary education for the Central Kitsap school district in Silverdale, Wash.; James E. Ellington, a teacher at Probst Field School in Moorhead, Minn.; and Fannie L. Simmons, a teacher at Irmo (S.C.) Middle School. Mr. Riley also designated the Colorado commissioner of education, William T. Randall, to be the new chairman. The 24-member board--composed of educators, members of the public, and state, local, and federal officials--sets policy for the National Assessment of Educational Progress.

The National Alliance of Business has honored John L. Clendenin, the chairman and chief executive officer of the BellSouth Corporation, and David T. Kearns, the chairman of the New American Schools Development Corporation. Mr. Clendenin received the Henry Ford II Award for Distinguished Business Leadership. Mr. Kearns received the Lyndon Baines Johnson Award for Distinguished Service in Building Public/Private Partnerships.

--Adrienne D. Coles

Vol. 14, Issue 12

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories