Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Book It! Reading Program

The Book It! National Reading Incentive Program has announced the winners of the National Enrollment Sweepstakes, which allows public, private, and parochial school K-6 principals a chance to win funds to help build their school libraries. The grand prize winner receives $10,000 and the 10 additional winners receive $1,000 each. They are: Grand-prize winner: Mike Malcomnson, Barryton Elementary School, Barryton, Mich. Additional winners: Bea Allen, Chipeta Elementary School, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Lyle Crane, Afton Elementary School, Afton, Okla.; Diane B. Davis, Liberty Christian Academy, Jerome, Idaho; Barbara Franques, Walden Lake Elementary School, Plant City, Fla.; John K. King, Nokesville Elementary School, Nokesville, Va.; Robert L. McClarin, Desert Cove Elementary School, Phoenix, Ariz.; Kathy McCombs, Philip Nolan Intermediate School, Sweetwater, Tex.; Edwin Miller, Washington Township Elementary School, Kalona, Iowa; Joanne Motes, Coop Elementary School, Houston, Tex.; Carla Payne, Christian Academy of Greater St. Louis, St. Louis, Mo.

National Council of Negro Women

The National Council of Negro Women Inc., Washington, D.C., has honored eight educators with the N.C.N.W. National Exellence in Teaching Award. National winner: Anne Battle McAndrew, John Marshall Center for Learning, Rochester, N.Y. Regional winners: Karen Garner-Luckie, Roll Hill Elementary School, Cincinnati, Ohio; Louise Goff, Oakwood Elementary School, Norfolk, Va.; Louchrisa Ford High, East Middle School, Nashville, Tenn.; Geraldine West Hudley, Dougherty Comprehensive High School, Albany, Ga.; Sonja Neely, Cole Performing and Visual Arts Magnet, Oakland, Calif.; Frances Turner, Masterman Laboratory and Demonstration School, Philadephia, Pa.; Corla Wilson-Hawkins, Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School, Chicago, Ill.

USA Today National Faculty

USA Today has announced its National Faculty members, 17 educators who will represent the newspaper within the educational community:

Ilene Abrams, teacher, Hightower Trail Middle School, Marietta, Ga.; Beth Anthony, teacher, Mary Ford Elementary School, Charleston, S.C.; Stace Divak, teacher, I.S. #117, New York City; Ward English, staff-development specialist, Dallas (Tex.) Independent School District; Diane Haarmann, director of guidance and college counseling, Nashoba Regional High School, Bolton, Mass.; Carol Hall, teacher, Chalmers Elementary School, Chicago, Ill.; Sara Hector, field-services specialist, Region IV E.S.C., Houston, Tex.; Judy Henderson, curriculum coordinator, Lorena Street School, Los Angeles, Calif.; JoAnn Hines, teacher, Cary (N.C.) High School; William Lagreid, assistant superintendent/director of school personnel, Archdiocese of Seattle (Wash.); Terri Moore, teacher, Wren Hollow Elementary School, St. Louis, Mo.; Wilma Mpelo, staff-development specialist, Howard University, Washington, D.C.; Candance Parker, coordinator of middle and secondary education, School District of Osceola County (Fla.); Joan Rizzoni, education consultant, Albuquerque, N.M.; Kay Shaw, director of staff development, Aurora (Colo.) Public Schools; Kenneth Vos, professor, department of education, College of St. Catherine, St. Paul, Minn.; Vera Wilkins, teacher, Burnt Mills Elementary School, Silver Spring, Md.

Other Honors and Awards

Browing-Ferris Industries has received the 1994 Excellence Award (K-12 competition) from the Solid Waste Association of North America, for its solid-waste educational program.

Chevron Corporation has been awarded the first "Leaders for Change Award" by the Council for Aid to Education, for its committment to and long-term support for education in the United States.

Jaime Escalante, mathematics teacher, Sacramento, Calif., has received the Freedom Forum's Free Spirit Award, for his dedication, determination, and vision.

Nick Ferentinos, English teacher, Homestead High School, Cupertino, Calif., was recently named the 1994 Journalism Teacher of the Year by the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund, Princeton, N.J.

James J. Renier, former chief executive officer, Honeywell Inc., was recently awarded the Jess Hay Award by the Child Care Group for his leadership as chairman of the United Way of America's Mobilization for America's Children initiative as well as for his company's support of programs for young children.

Vern Williams, mathematics teacher, Longfellow Middle School, Fairfax, Va., has been selected as the second-place winner of the 1994 Edyth May Sliffe Award for Distinguished High School Mathematics Teaching, which recognizes teachers responsible for the success of high-scoring teams on the American High School Mathematics Examination.

Vol. 14, Issue 03

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories