Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

C. Diane Bishop, Arizona's superintendent of public instruction, has bowed out of a race for a third term.

"I promised myself that if I could not raise the money needed to run a quality campaign, I would not put my staff, my supporters, or myself through an arduous campaign," she said recently

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching has named P. Michael Timpane a vice president and senior scholar. Mr. Timpane stepped down this summer after 10 years as the president of Teachers College, Columbia University.

Chester E. Finn Jr. has been named the Hudson Institute's new John M. Olin Fellow. The fellowship will support the former assistant U.S. secretary of education's work as a co-founder of the Indianapolis-based institute's Educational Excellence Network.

The Los Angeles County board of supervisors has appointed Donald W. Ingwerson superintendent of its office of education. Mr. Ingwerson, whose 12-year tenure as the superintendent of the Jefferson County schools in Kentucky won him national recognition, left there a year ago to head the Galef Institute, a private school-reform organization in Santa Monica, Calif.

Pamela H. Zappardino is the new executive director of FairTest, an advocacy group that promotes alternatives to traditional multiple-choice tests. She replaces Cinthia Schuman, who left the Boston-based group to serve as deputy director of the Rockefeller Family Fund in New York City.

Dominic A. Palazzolo has been named president-elect of the National Association of Elementary School Principals. Mr. Palazzolo, the principal of Yake Elementary School in Woodhaven, Mich., will take the helm of the 26,000-member group next July.

Former Mayor Kathryn J. Whitmire of Houston has succeeded Karl Flemke as the president of Junior Achievement Inc. Mr. Flemke died of a heart attack in June. Ms. Whitmire is the first woman C.E.O. of the Colorado Springs-based organization.

Mary Leonard, the director of the Council on Foundations' precollegiate group, has resigned after 14 years with the Washington-based council.

Vol. 14, Issue 01

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories