Honors and Awards

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The National Education Association's National Foundation for the Improvement of Education has named five teachers as Christa McAuliffe Educators, for their leadership in multicultural education and innovative use of technology. The recipients are: Arlene A. Costello, Oakcrest Elementary School, Pensacola, Fla.; Nana Hill, Academic Competitiveness Through Technology Academy, McKinney, Tex.; Hazel V. Lockett, Vernon L. Davey Junior High School, East Orange, N.J.; Jaime Roybal, C.E. Rose Elementary School, Tucson, Ariz.; Robin Wax, Pioneer High School, Ann Arbor, Mich.

The National Council for the Social Studies has awarded four teachers the Social Studies Teacher of the Year Award. The recipients are: Linda Black, Cypress Falls High School, Houston, Tex.; Brenda D. Campen, Mount Edgecumbe High School, Sitka, Alaska; Linda Kay Reeves, Pat Nixon Elementary School, Cerritos, Calif.; Gary Swalley, Edwardsville Junior High School, Edwardsville, Ill.

Nine educators have been named recipients of the Award for Excellence in Aviation Education, sponsored by the General Aviation Manufacturers Association. They are: Pat Allegar, East Elementary School, New Richmond, Wis.; Toni C. Brown, Twin Spruce Junior High School, Gillette, Wyo.; MaryAnne Devine, Mill Road School, Northfield, N.J.; Nancianne Horton, Kennedy Elementary School, Keizer, Ore.; David H. Karre, Kinnelon High School, Kinnelon, N.J.; Barbara Moreau, Walnut Street Elementary School, Toms River, N.J.; Robert C. Reinhardt, Coulterville Greeley School, Coulterville, Calif.; Estelle L. Stockett, Magnolia Woods Elementary, Baton Rouge, La.; Linda Szpula, Mill Road School, Northfield, N.J.

Five individuals were recently honored as 1994 Dr. Martin Luther King Medalists by George Washington University in Washington, D.C., for outstanding professional service in civil and human rights. The award recipients are: Doris W. Jones, co-founder, Jones-Hayward School of Ballet, and founder, Capital Ballet Company, Washington, D.C.; Yolanda King, lecturer and activist, Atlanta, Ga.; U.S. Rep. John Lewis, D-Ga.; Jeffrey Rickert, co-founder/director, the George Washington Neighbors Project, Washington, D.C.; Walter J. Turnbull, founder/director, Boys Choir of Harlem, New York City.

Five elementary schools were recently honored in the Arizona A+ Elementary School Recognition program, sponsored by the Arizona Department of Education and the Arizona Educational Foundation. They are: Centennial Elementary School, Tucson; Del Rio Elementary School, Chino Valley; Manzanita Elementary School, Tucson; Scott L. Libby Elementary School, Litchfield Park; Shumway Elementary School, Chandler.

Cindy Betz, president, Meridian Education Association, Meridian, Idaho, has been awarded the Defense of Academic Freedom Award, sponsored by the Social Issues Resources Series and the National Council for the Social Studies.

Children's Television Workshop, New York City, was recently honored with the 1994 Literacy Award from the Manhattan Council of the International Reading Association, for its role in promoting literacy through print media.

Rendigs Fels, professor emeritus, Vanderbilt University, has been awarded the Marvin Bower Award by the National Council on Economic Education.

Gilbert R. Jacobson, assistant superintendent for business and administrative services, Southern Westchester Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Rye Brook, N.Y., was recently awarded the International Eagle Service Award by the Association of School Business Officials, for his commitment to improving the level of professionalism among school business administrators.

Juliette N. Lester, executive director, National Occupational Information Coordinating Committee, was awarded the American Spirit Award by the American Vocational Association and the U.S. Air Force Recruiting Service, for her support of vocational education and guidance.

Marshall High School Symphonic Band, Fairfax, Va., was awarded the Sudler Flag of Honor by the John Philip Souza Foundation, for the highest quality of musical performance and organizational distinction at the international level.

Robert Moore, vocal music director, Ponca City High School, Ponca City, Okla., has been induction into the Oklahoma Music Educators Hall of Fame, for his leadership and dedication to music education.

John M. Stewart, director, McKinsey & Company Inc., has been awarded the George P. Baker Award by the National Council on Economic Education.

Marilou Winkler, teacher, Canterbury Woods Elementary School, Annandale, Va., has been named the National Football League Teacher of the Year, for her positive influence on the N.F.L. player Andy Heck.

The World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts, London, England, has been awarded the 1993 President's Award by the International Public Relations Association, for its outstanding contribution to educating children and young adults for better world understanding.

Vol. 13, Issue 19

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories