Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

In the Schools

Todd F. Avis, director of admissions and academic coordinator of summer programs, The Gow School, South Wales, N.Y., to principal, Hillsdale Academy, Hillsdale, Mich.

Eileen P. Mullady, associate dean of the faculty, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J., to dean of the faculty and associate headmaster, The Lawrenceville School, Lawrenceville, N.J.

Katharine E. West, admissions officer, The Potomac School, McLean, Va., to director of annual giving, The Madeira School, McLean, Va.

In the Districts

Ray E. Aucker Sr., superintendent of schools, Diagonal (Iowa) Community School District, to superintendent of schools, Unified School District, Armagh, Pa.

James L. Lerman, director of professional development, Teach For America, New York City, to director of school improvement, Hoboken (N.J.) Public Schools.

Betty G. Mason, interim superintendent of schools, Oklahoma City Public Schools, to superintendent.

In the Associations

Robert C. Spear, director of curriculum, instruction, and staff development, Southwick/Tolland Regional School District, and principal, Powder Mill Middle School, Southwick, Mass., to executive director, New England League of Middle Schools.

Other Appointments

Richard L. Andrews, dean, University of Wyoming-Laramie College of Education, to dean, University of Missouri-Columbia College of Education.

Gov. Mario M. Cuomo of New York, and Keith B. Geiger, president, National Education Association, have been named to the national advisory board of the National Association for Gifted Children.

Willis D. Hawley, director, Center for Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University Institute of Public Policy Studies, to dean, College of Education, University of Maryland at College Park.

Sherry P. Magill, acting executive director, Jessie Ball duPont Fund, Jacksonville, Fla., to executive director.

Charles L. Mitsakos, former superintendent, Winchester (Mass.) Public Schools, to chair, education department, Rivier College, Nashua, N.H.

James R. Pagliarini, chief executive officer and station manager, KNPB-TV, Reno, Nev., and Robert E. Schiller, Michigan superintendent of instruction, to board of directors, Agency for Instructional Technology, Bloomington, Ind.

Frank Riggs, former U.S. representative from the First Congressional District of California, to vice president and general manager, Learning Tools Inc., a Sonoma County, Calif., educational-software and consulting firm.

Trevor E. Sewell, acting dean, college of education, Temple University, Philadelphia, Pa., to dean.

Lauren Wedeles, director, community-relations programs, American Friends Service Committee, New York City, to executive director, Reading Reform Foundation, New York City.

President Clinton last month appointed 27 members of the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, the group responsible for selecting graduating high school seniors to become Presidential Scholars. Chairing the committee will be Gov. Jim Florio of New Jersey; the other members are listed below.

Tracy Bailey, National Teacher of the Year; Margaret R. Blackshere, assistant to the president, Illinois Federation of Teachers; Francis J. Bonner Jr., chair, department of physical medicine and rehabilitation, Mt. Sinai and Graduate Hospitals, Philadelphia, and Sacred Heart Hospital, Norristown, Pa.; Thomas E. Britton, chair, Monadnock Region District School Board, N.H.; the Rev. S.C. Cureton, pastor, Reedy River (S.C.) Baptist Church; John Davidson, member, New Mexico Commission on Higher Education; Joseph D. DiVincenzo, commissioner, Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority, N.Y.; Jim R. Fotter, president, Wyoming Education Association; Susan F. Friebert, a high school team leader for guidance counselors and community volunteers in Wisconsin; Susan E. Gaertner, director, Human Services Division, Ramsey County (Minn.) Attorney's Office; Felicia Gervais, president, Leonard L. Farber Inc., a Florida development firm.

Freman Hendrix, assistant Wayne County, Mich., executive for legislative affairs; Patricia Jean Henry, president, National PTA; Barbara Holt, director, Franklin Pierce College, Portsmouth, N.H.; Gloria Jackson, retired public school administrator, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.; Nathaniel Hawthorne LaCour, president, United Teachers of New Orleans; Dhyan Lal, principal, Carson High School, Los Angeles, Calif.; Ronnie Fern Liebowitz, attorney, Newark, N.J.; Bill Marshall, a professor of law in Ohio; Penny Miller, assistant professor, department of political science, University of Kentucky; Sandy Miller, First Lady, state of Nevada; Marilyn Monahan, secretary-treasurer, National Education Association; Dan Morales, attorney general of Texas; Daniel Morris, president, Colorado Education Association; Carla Nuxoll, president, Washington Education Association; James Shimoura, former special assistant attorney general for the state of Michigan; Eddie L. Smith Jr., mayor, Holly Springs, N.H.; Dawn Steel, former president, Columbia Pictures; Niara Sudarkasa, president, Lincoln University; Margaret M. Whillock, diector of development, University of Arkansas.

Vol. 12, Issue 38

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories