Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

In the Schools

JoAnn D. Austin, principal of the West Street School in Southbridge, Mass., to superintendent of the Southbridge schools.

In the Districts

William J. Torok, assistant superintendent of schools for instruction in Gloucester, Va., to superintendent of the Lewisburg (Va.) Area School District.

In the States

Six new and returning Nevada State Board of Education members were recently sworn in. They are: Frank Brown, Terry Garcia-Cahlan, Bill Hanlon, Liliam Hickey, Patricia Krajcech, and Yvonne Shaw.

Victor A. Barone, a lawyer in Charleston, W. Va., to director of legal services for the West Virginia Department of Education in Charleston.

In the Associations

Esther J. Cox, principal of the King Career Center in Anchorage, Alaska, to president-elect of the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

Richard Kizma, deputy director of labor relations for the Ohio School Boards Association, to director of labor relations and management services for the group.

H. Dale Spaulding, principal of Lampeter-Strasburgh High School in Lampeter, Pa., to president of the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

Other Appointments

Eight trustees were recently elected to the College Board's 25-member board of trustees. They are: Robert D. Flanigan Jr., vice president of business and financial affairs, Spelman College, Atlanta, Ga.; Kathryn M. Forte, vice president for enrollment, Whittier College, Whittier, Calif.; Joseph A. Fernandez, chancellor, New York City public schools; D. Bruce Johnstone, chancellor, State University of New York, Albany; Charles A. Kiesler, chancellor, University of Missouri-Columbia; Arnold Mitchem, executive director, National Council of Educational Opportunity Associations, Washington, D.C.; Thomas W. Payzant, superintendent, San Diego (Calif.) Unified School District; and Augusta Souza Kappner, president, Borough of Manhattan Community College and acting president of the City College of New York.

Leslie Harris, chief legislative counsel of the American Civil Liberties Union since 1989, to director of public policy for People for the American Way, Washington, D.C.

JoAnne Miller, president of the San Francisco Unified School District board, to director of the National Education Marketing for 21st Century Learning Corporation, San Francisco, Calif.

Newton N. Minow, counsel to the law firm of Sidley & Austin in Chicago, Ill., to chairman of the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Ronald G. Sears, director of education for the American Public Works Association in Chicago, Ill., to head of the programming division of the National PTA.

Judith Wain, acting executive secretary of the Minnesota Board of Teaching in St. Paul, to executive secretary of the group.

Resignations and Retirements

Richard Miller, executive director of the American Association of School Administrators since 1985, has announced his retirement, effective March 31, 1994.

Vol. 12, Issue 24

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories