People News

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Four finalists have been named in the National Teacher of the Year Program for 1993.

They are: Rosemary Faucette, an English teacher at Woodland Junior High School, Fayettville, Ark.; Tracey Leon Bailey, a physics, biology, and general-science teacher at Satellite High School, Satellite Beach, Fla.; Trudi Niewiaroski, a social-studies teacher at Richard Montgomery High School, Rockville, Md.; and Pat S. Graff, a journalism, language-arts, and government teacher at La Cueva High School, Albuquerque, N.M.

The program has been sponsored jointly for the past 42 years by the Council of Chief State School Officers and Encyclopaedia Britannica.

The winner will be announced by the White House in mid-April.

Charlie G. Williams, a retired state superintendent of schools in South Carolina, has been hired as assistant state superintendent of education in Alabama.

Mr. Williams, headed the schools in South Carolina from 1979 to 1991. During his tenure, he worked with then-Gov. Richard W. Riley to write and enact landmark school legislation that brought the state national recognition. Mr. Riley was confirmed last week as U.S. Secretary of Education.

After his retirement, Mr. Williams, 64, moved to Alabama. He will assume his new duties this month.

Vol. 12, Issue 18

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories