People News

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Shirley A. Hill, Thomas W. Payzant, and Edward Zigler are the winners of the 1992 Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education.

Ms. Hill, a professor of mathematics and education at the University of Missouri at Kansas City, was recognized for her work in helping guide mathematics-curriculum reform as the former chairman of the Mathematical Sciences Education Board.

Mr. Payzant, the superintendent of schools in San Diego, was cited for his "vision and innovation'' in managing a large urban district.

Mr. Zigler, a professor of psychology at Yale University and a co-founder of the Head Start program, was honored for his pioneering work in early-childhood education.

Established in 1988 as a tribute to the chairman emeritus of McGraw-Hill Inc., the McGraw Prize is awarded annually to individuals whose programs and ideas can serve as models for education. Winners receive cash prizes of $25,000.

The Wichita, Kan., school board has named Larry Vaughn as superintendent.

Mr. Vaughn, the superintendent of the Pasadena, Tex., schools, succeeds Stuart Berger, who left in August to head the Baltimore County, Md., schools.

Vol. 12, Issue 12

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories