U.S.D.A. Unveils Updated 'Food Pyramid' To Depict a Healthy Diet

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

After a yearlong delay, the Department of Agriculture last week released an updated "food pyramid'' as its new symbol for communicating the elements of a healthy diet to schoolchildren and other Americans.

The new symbol--which graphically shows that a healthy diet should contain more bread, cereal, and pasta than meat and other high-fat items--is designed to replace the familiar pie-shaped symbol of the four food groups that has been a staple in American classrooms since the 1950's.

The pie-shaped symbol, in contrast, is designed to show that a good diet can be obtained by eating a variety of foods.

The new symbol was scheduled to have been released last spring. But, after receiving complaints from the meat and dairy industry that the pyramid discouraged consumption of their products, department officials decided at the last minute to subject the graphic to further review. (See Education Week, May 1, 1991.)

A year and an $855,000 study later, the department again concluded that the pyramid, as opposed to several other graphics tested, including a bowl, shopping cart, and pie chart, most effectively showed that healthy eaters should reduce their consumption of fats, oils, and sugary foods.

"The new graphic conveys the three essential elements of a healthy diet: proportion, moderation, and variety,'' Agriculture Secretary Edward R. Madigan said last week.

The new pyramid, just like the pyramid that was rejected last year and other long-time federal diet guidelines, suggest that a healthy daily diet includes: 6 to 11 servings of bread, cereal, rice, and pasta; 3 to 5 servings of vegetables; 2 to 4 servings of fruit; 2 to 3 servings of both dairy products and meats, poultry, fish, beans, eggs, and nuts; and infrequent servings of fats, oils, and sweets.

33 Changes

Both the old pyramid and the new "Food Guide Pyramid'' depict the bread and grain category at the base, and fruits and vegetables on the next, narrower level. Meat and dairy products are depicted on the third level, and a triangle representing high-fat and sugary foods topped both pyramids.

The new pyramid, however, contains 33 subtle changes, department officials said. For example, a plate of spaghetti replaces a picture of a bowl of macaroni that some had thought were hot dogs, and the picture depicting cheese resembles slices of Swiss instead of a wedge of cake.

Officials said they decided to make the changes, as well as to retain the pyramid, after questioning 3,017 children and adults nationwide about the various proposed symbols and the foods depicted on them.

Unlike the original pyramid, which was tested on a predominantly middle-income audience with at least a high-school education, the new symbol was tested on a disproportionately lower-income group.

The department acknowledged that the new pyramid still contains some flaws: Both the protein and dairy categories do not distinguish between high- and low-fat items, and the graphic does not show that salt consumption should be reduced.

Officials noted that additional nutrition material that will be distributed to schools, health, and consumer groups will contain such information.

Vol. 11, Issue 33, Page 20

Published in Print: May 6, 1992, as U.S.D.A. Unveils Updated 'Food Pyramid' To Depict a Healthy Diet
Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories





Sponsor Insights

Vocabulary Development for Striving Readers

Free Ebook: How to Implement a Coding Program in Schools

Successful Intervention Builds Student Success

Effective Ways to Support Students with Dyslexia

Stop cobbling together your EdTech

Integrate Science and ELA with Informational Text

Can self-efficacy impact growth for ELLs?

Disruptive Tech Integration for Meaningful Learning

Building Community for Social Good

5 Resources on the Power of Interoperability from Unified Edtech

New campaign for UN World Teachers Day

5 Game-Changers in Today’s Digital Learning Platforms

Hiding in Plain Sight - 7 Common Signs of Dyslexia in the Classroom

The research: Reading Benchmark Assessments

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

All Students Are Language Learners: The Imagine Learning Language Advantage™

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

How to Support All Students with Equitable Pathways

2019 K-12 Digital Content Report

3-D Learning & Assessment for K–5 Science

Climate Change, LGBTQ Issues, Politics & Race: Instructional Materials for Teaching Complex Topics

Closing the Science Achievement Gap

Evidence-based Coaching: Key Driver(s) of Scalable Improvement District-Wide

Advancing Literacy with Large Print

Research Sheds New Light on the Reading Brain

Tips for Supporting English Learners Through Personalized Approaches

Response to Intervention Centered on Student Learning

The Nonnegotiable Attributes of Effective Feedback

SEE MORE Insights >