Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

In the Schools

Steven A. Loy, head of the Dunn School in Los Olivios, Calif., to head of the Rutgers Preparatory School in Somerset, N.J.

Helen Rowland Marter, upper-school principal and dean of students at Germantown Friends School in Philadelphia, Pa., to head of the Laurel School in Shaker Heights, Ohio.

In the Districts

Stuart Berger, superintendent of the Wichita (Kan.) Public Schools, to superintendent of the Baltimore County (Md.) Schools.

In the States

Charley E. Gillispie, former partner in the accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche in Chicago, Ill., to chief financial officer of the Chicago Board of Education.

In the Associations

The American Association of School Administrators recently installed seven officers and executive-committee members in ceremonies held in Des Plaines, Ill. They are listed below.

Benjamin Canada, superintendent of the Jackson (Miss.) Public School District, to appointed member of the executive committee; Robert Fox, superintendent of the Hanover (Mass.) Public Schools, to president-elect; Roland Haun, superintendent of the Fort Knox (Ky.) Community Schools, to vice president; Paul Jung, superintendent of Community Consolidated School District 62 in Des Plaines, Ill., to president; Homer Kearns, superintendent of the Salem-Keizer Public Schools in Salem, Ore., to elected member of the executive committee; Bill Morris, Kemper Capital Markets, in Lansing, Mich., to immediate past president; Donald Thompson, superintendent of the Mariemont City Schools in Cincinnati, Ohio, to elected member of the executive committee.

William R. Cotter, president of Colby College in Waterville, Me., has been named chair of the board of the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities. Joining him as officers are the following:

Robert J. Bruce, president of Widener University in Chester, Pa., to vice chair of the board and chair of the Committee on Administration; Rhoda M. Dorsey, president of Goucher College in Towson, Md., to chair of the board's committee on government relations; Thomas A. Manion, president of Saint Norbert College in DePere, Wis., to chair of the committee on policy analysis and public relations; Beverly W. Miller, president of Western New England College in Springfield, Mass., to treasurer; and Julius S. Scott, Jr., president of Paine College in Augusta, Ga., to secretary.

John Kernan, chairman and chief executive officer of the Jostens Learning Corporation in San Diego, Calif., to member of the executive committee of the school division of the American Association of Publishers.

Other Appointments

The Agency for Instructional Technology recently named four new board members to work with education professionals, private business, and government agencies in the United States and Canada. The members are listed below.

Keith B. Geiger, president of the National Education Association; Bernice Stafford, product-marketing manager of the Jostens Learning Corporation in San Diego, Calif.; Richard Stursberg, senior vice president for government, legal, and environmental matters for Unitel Communications Inc. in Toronto, Canada; and Elaine Todres, deputy minister of the Ontario Ministry of Culture and Communications.

Two new members have been named to the Education Commission of the States. They are listed below.

Lois Easton, director of curriculum and assessment planning for the Arizona Department of Education, to director of Re:Learning Systems; and Gerrit Westervelt, education advocate, lobbyist, and member liaison for the New York State School Boards Association, to director of state relations.

Alison R. Bernstein, associate dean of faculty at Princeton University, to director of the education and culture program at the Ford Foundation in New York City.

John L. Clendenin, chairman and chief executive officer of BellSouth, to chairman of the Committee for Economic Development in New York City.

Eugene H. Cota-Robles, professor emeritus of biology at the University of California at Santa Cruz, to special assistant to the director of human-resources development, and affirmative-action officer, National Science Foundation.

Michael N. Eanes, former headmaster of the Gunnery School in Washington, Conn., to national director of the American Montessori Society.

David P. Gardner, president of the University of California, to president of the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation in in Menlo Park, Calif.

Lawrence W. Gold, president and founder of Public Policy Advocates of Washington, D.C., to director of the department of colleges and universities of the American Federation of Teachers.

Mary Alice Rathbun, program supervisor of the Berkeley (Calif.) Adult School, an employment-training program, to head of the Berkeley Bioscience Education Program, designed to enable local high-school and community-college students to qualify for skilled jobs in the biotech-manufacturing field.

Carole Whitcomb, executive director of the Associated Colleges of Illinois, to president of the Foundation of Independent Higher Education in Stamford, Conn.

Resignations and Retirements

William Rioux, executive director of the National Committee for Citizens in Education, in Washington, D.C. will retire at the end of June, after 19 years with organization. Mr. Rioux was one of three education activists who established the N.C.C.E. in 1973.

Vol. 11, Issue 31

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories