Members of History-Standards Panel

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Following are the members of the National Council for History Standards:

Charlotte Crabtree (chairman), director, National Center for History in the Schools, University of California, Los Angeles; Gary Nash (vice chairman), associate director, National Center for History in the Schools; Charlotte Anderson, president, National Council for the Social Studies; Joyce Appleby, president, Organization of American Historians; David Bambach, teacher, Woolslair Elementary Gifted Center, Pittsburgh School District; Samuel Banks, director of instructional support services, Baltimore City Schools; David Battini, teacher, Cairo Durham High School, Cairo, N.Y.; Earl Bell, president, Organization of History Teachers; Mary Bicouvaris, teacher, Hampton Roads Academy, Newport News, Va.; Diane Brooks, president, Council of State Social Studies Specialists; Pedro Castillo, associate professor of history, Oakes College, University of California, Santa Cruz; Ramon Cortines, superintendent, San Francisco Unified School District.

Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, director, Institute for Women's Studies, Emory University; Carol Gluck, George Sanson Professor of History, East Asia Institute, Columbia University; Darlene Clark Hine, John A. Hannah Professor of History, Michigan State University; Bill Honig, state superintendent of public instruction, California; Akira Iriye, professor of history, Harvard University; Kenneth Jackson, Barzun Professor of History and the Social Sciences, Columbia University; Morton Keller, Samuel J. and Augusta Spector Professor of History, Brandeis University; William Leuchtenberg, William Rand Kenan Jr. Professor of History, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Bernard Lewis, Cleveland E. Dodge Professor of Near Eastern Studies, Princeton University.

William McNeill, professor emeritus, department of history, University of Chicago; Stephanie Pace Marshall, president, Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development; John J. Patrick, director, social-studies development center, Indiana University; C. Frederick Risinger, associate director, social-studies development center, Indiana University; Gilbert T. Sewall, director, American Textbook Council; Warren Solomon, curriculum consultant, Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education; Michael Winston, professor emeritus of history and vice president emeritus for academic affairs, Howard University.

Vol. 11, Issue 24

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories