Members of Council on Standards and Testing

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Following are the individuals invited last week by the National Education Goals Panel to serve on its "interim council on standards and testing":

Co-chairmen: Gov. Carroll A. Campbell Jr. of South Carolina; Gov. Roy Romer of Colorado.

Bush Administration representatives: Lynne V. Cheney, chairman, National Endowment for the Humanities; David T. Kearns, deputy secretary, Education Department; Walter Massey, director, National Science Foundation; Roger B. Porter, assistant to the President for economic and domestic policy.

Members of Congress: Senator Edward M. Kennedy of Massachusetts, chairman, Labor and Human Resources Committee, or his designee; Senator Orrin G. Hatch of Utah, ranking Republican, Labor and Human Resources Committee, or his designee; Representative William D. Ford of Michigan, chairman, Education and Labor Committee, or his designee; Representative Bill Goodling, ranking Republican, Education and Labor Committee, or his designee.

Representatives of the goals panel's resource group on student achievement: Chester E. Finn Jr., professor of education and public policy, Vanderbilt University; David W. Hornbeck, former state superintendent of schools, Maryland; Lauren B. Resnick, director, Learning Research and Development Center, University of Pittsburgh; Marshall S. Smith, dean, graduate school of education, Stanford University.

State legislators: Senator John Hainkel, Louisiana; Senator Carlos Cisneros, New Mexico.

Chief state school officer: Eve M. Bither, commissioner of education, Maine.

Teacher representatives: Mary V. Bicouvaris, teacher, Bethel High School, Hampton, Va., and 1989 Teacher of the Year; Iris M. Carl, president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics; Keith B. Geiger, president, National Education Association; Albert Shanker, president, American Federation of Teachers.

Local school officials: Brian Benzel, superintendent, Edmonds (Wash.) School District; Ramon C. Cortines, superintendent, San Francisco Unified School District; Martha C. Fricke, member, Ashland-Greenwood Board of Education, Ashland, Neb., and immediate past president, National School Boards Association; Sandra Hassan, principal, Beach Channel High School, New York.

Higher-education representative: Michael T. Nettles, vice president for assessment, University of Tennessee.

At-large members: William E. Brock, former U.S. Secretary of Labor; Mark D. Musick, president, Southern Regional Education Board.

Vol. 10, Issue 38

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories