Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

From Federal Sources

National Science Foundation1800 G St., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20550

The National Science Foundation has awarded $3.1 million in grants to establish five new "nsf Comprehensive Regional Centers for Minorities," which will join the original three centers, launched last year in Atlanta, New York City, and Puerto Rico, in working to increase interest in the sciences in areas with high concentrations of minorities. The grants, to be continued over five years for a total of up to $17 million, will encourage collaboration among institutions of higher education, community groups, and state and local governments to identify ways to address the problem of minority underrepresentation in the scientific and technological workforce. The grant recipients and the amount of the grant are listed below by state:

California. California State University, Los Angeles: $700,000. Florida. Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, Tallahassee: $500,000. Missouri. University of Missouri, St. Louis: $700,000. Pennsylvania. Philadelphia Alliance for Teaching Humanities/Philadelphia Renaissance in Science and Mathematics: $700,000. Texas. University of Texas, El Paso: $500,000.

From Private Sources

The Joyce Foundation135 South LaSalle St., Chicago, Ill. 60603

The Joyce Foundation has awarded a total of $226,000 in grants from its Educational Ventures Fund, to support efforts to establish school-based management in the Chicago Public Schools. Grants of up to $10,000 were awarded to 39 schools from throughout the Chicago area, with an emphasis on districts and schools serving low-income children. The grant recipients, the name of the school's principal, and the amount of their grant are listed below:

John Barry Elementary School, Alice B. Vila: $6,300. Ludwig von Beethoven Elementary School, Grace G. Dawson: $4,990. Alexander Graham Bell Elementary School, Leo J. Priebe: $2,150. Chicago Vocational High School, Roosevelt Burnett: $9,350 over 2 years. Michele E. Clark Middle School, Marietta Beverly: $8,587 over 2 years.

Medgar Evers Elementary School, Emmerine Clarkston: $4,240. James B. Farnsworth Elementary School, Catherine M. Wells: $2,850 over 2 years. Christian Fenger High School, Linda C. Layne: $7,428. Foster Park Elementary School, Joronda R. Strong: $5,860. J.W. von Goethe Elementary School, Jean R. Walker: $1,540.

Hanson Park Elementary School, Frank J. DePaul: $6,316 over 2 years. Bret Harte Elementary School, Daniel J. O'Neill: $5,194. Stephen K. Hayt Elementary School, Donald J. Hill: $6,306 over 2 years. Charles N. Holden Elementary School, Terri Katsulis: $4,231. Oliver Wendell Holmes Elementary School, Richard Bradley: $5,010.

Andrew Jackson Language Academy, Vicki Gunther: $5,590. James Weldon Johnson School, Mattie B. Tyson: $5,950 over 2 years. Gerald Delgado Kanoon Magnet School, Belkis M. Santos: $8,900 over 2 years. Alfred D. Kohn Elementary School, Peter Zansitis: $3,550. M. Jean de Lafayette Elementary School, Efrain Orduz: $2,500.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School, George E. May: $6,660 over 2 years. Hugh Manley High School, Katherine Flanagan: $5,150. Oscar F. Mayer Elementary School, Louella B. Preston: $2,300. W.A. Mozart Elementary School, Charlotte Projansky: $4,450. New Sabin Magnet School, Lourdes Monteagudo: $6,400.

Ambrose Plamondon Elementary School, Guadalupe Hamersma: $4,700 over 2 years. Maria Saucedo Magnet School, Karen L. Morris: $8,225 over 2 years. Harriet E. Sayre Language Academy, Rose Marici: $9,200 over 2 years. Thomas A. Scanlan Elementary School, Loesther Foley: $7,805. Beulah Shoesmith Elementary School, Clare M. DuBrock: $4,750.

John D. Shoop Elementary School, James C. Blackman: $2,825. Neal F. Simeon Vocational High School, Patricia Graham: $4,498. Graeme Stewart Elementary School, Patricia M. Ryan: $10,000 over 2 years. George Washington Elementary School, Salvatore A. Vallina: $7,000. Daniel S. Wentworth Elementary School, John Jackson: $4,850.

Oliver S. Westcott Elementary School, Joan D. Wright: $7,090. John Whistler Elementary School, Marcus M. Ahmed: $8,610. O.W. Wilson Occupational High School, Jay F. Mulberry: $8,770 over 2 years. Carter G. Woodson Child-Parent Center, Jacquelyne Gilmore-Parker: $6,590 over 2 years.

The National Foundation for theImprovement of Education1201 16th St., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036

The National Foundation for the Improvement of Education has awarded over $32,000 in grants to support seven teacher-designed and implemented dropout-prevention projects. Nfie, an affiliate of the National Education Association, has awarded nearly $1 million in the first four years of its dropout-prevention program, which offers teachers the opportunity to instigate school reform. The grant recipients, the name of the program, and the amount of the grant are listed below by state:

California. Fremont United District Teachers Association, Fremont, Calif., Life Skills Motivational Program, based at Washington High School: $3,732.

Kentucky. Metcalfe County Education Association, Hardyville, Project Rebound, based at the North Metcalfe Elementary/Junior High School: $3,694.

Massachusetts. Springfield Education Association, Project Incentive: Changing Attitudes Toward School, based at the Brookings School: $5,000.

New Mexico. Clayton Educators Association, Clayton Dropout Prevention Program at the Clayton Municipal Schools: $5,000. Nea-Gadsden, Operation Stand by a Student: $5,000.

North Carolina. Buncombe N.C. Association of Educators at the Swannanoa Middle School, Asheville, Swannanoa for the People Project: $4,835.

Oregon. South Lane Education Association, Cottage Grove, Intervention for At-Risk Students: Focus on Career Awareness: $5,000.

Vol. 09, Issue 09

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories