Teachers Win Awards for Study Abroad

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

A total of 100 high-school foreign-language teachers will study abroad for eight weeks this summer as winners of $4,500 fellowships from the Rockefeller Foundation, foundation officials announced last week.

The goal of the fellowship program, now in its second year, is to improve foreign-language instruction by helping teachers become better versed in the languages and cultures they teach, said Jean Benoit, program coordinator at Academic Alliances, a University of Pennsylvania-based school-college collaborative that administers the fellowship program.

This year's fellows will study a total of nine languages on four continents. Spanish is the most popular language among winners, with 38 fellows planning to study in Spain and Latin America. Another 35 will study French; 9, German; 6, Latin; 5, Japanese; 3, Chinese; 3, Russian; 1, Greek; and 1, Italian.

Programs of study vary widely; for example, one teacher plans to develop a workshop on French cuisine, and another will produce teaching materials in Mandarin Chinese for high-school students.

The fellows are:

Heather Faddoul, Rogers High School, Fayetteville, Ark.; Anne Jensen, Westmont High School, Palo Alto, Calif.; Linda Reffner, Alverno High School, San Gabriel, Calif.; Lucie Rosa-Stagi, St. Ignatius College Preparatory, San Francisco; Edward Silva, Miramonta High School, Berkeley, Calif.; Barbara Talavan, St. Ignatius College Preparatory, San Francisco; Ondina Wade, Chula Vista Adult School, Chula Vista, Calif.

Carol Altman, Graland Country Day School, Denver; Robert Harness, Colorado Springs School, Colorado Springs, Colo.; Raymond Nalewajk, Derby High School, Stratford, Conn.; Richard Rule, St. Bernard High School, Noank, Conn.; Andrew Aronson, The Sidwell Friends School, Washington; Dorothy Evita, Duke Ellington School for the Arts, Washington.

Louise Borsoi, Lake Brantley High School, Orlando, Fla.; Gloria Chester-Munoz, St. Petersburg High School, St. Petersburg, Fla.; Emily Christofoli, Episcopal High School, Jacksonville, Fla.; Dulce M. Goldenberg, Miami Senior High School, Miami; Deborah Ames, Central Gwinnett High School, Stone Mountain, Ga.; Mary J. McDaniel, Clarke Central High School, Athens, Ga.; Junko Lowry, Kamehameha School, Honolulu; Anne Morimoto, Radford High School, Mililani Town, Hawaii; Hope K. Staab, Punahou School, Honolulu.

Ardis Larvick, Stewardson-Strasburg High School, Mattoon, Ill.; Joan Monego, Oak Park and River Forest High School, Elmwood Park, Ill.; Pamela Baker, Snider High School, Fort Wayne, Ind.; Thomas Doukas, Highland High School, Hammond, Ind.; Christine Frampton, Center Grove High School, Indianapolis; James Becker, Northern University High School, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Neva Christensen, West Senior High School, Coralville, Iowa; Susan Cleveland, Janesville Community School, Waverly, Iowa; Mary Kimmell, Keokuk Senior High School, Argyle, Iowa; Lydia Ruiz-Coulter, Ottumwa High School, Ottumwa, Iowa.

Judith Lyons, Atherton High School, Louisville, Ky.; Sharon Stokley, Highland Middle School, Louisville, Ky.; Jeffry Holmes, LaGrange Senior High School, Sulphur, La.; Hannah Gershon, Eleanor Roosevelt High School, Bowie, Md.; Toby Rivkin, Roland Park Country School, Baltimore; Stephen J. Collins, Boston College High School, Reading, Mass.; Dianne Conway, Northampton High School, Granby, Mass.; Diane Lopez, Braintree High School, Hanover, Mass.; John Nolan, Swampscott High School, Lynn, Mass.; Maria Vallone, Newton North High School, Newtonville, Mass.

Delores Buth, Blaine High School, Coon Rapids, Minn.; Diana Moen, Rosemount High School, St. Paul; Frances Coleman, Ackerman High School, Ackerman, Miss.; Stephanie Maupin, Oakville Senior High School, St. Louis; Sister Judith Schulte, Rosati-Kain High School, St. Louis; Pamela Dethloff, Millard North High School, Omaha; Jeanne Windsor, St. Paul's School, Concord, N.H.

Juanita Carfora, Central Regional High School, Toms River, N.J.; Ila Lewis-de-Bryant, Lenape High School, Mount Holly, N.J.; Laura T. Meierhans, Ridge High and Annin Middle Schools, Metuchen, N.J.; Adrina Shamamian, Teaneck High School, West Orange, N.J.; Barbara Cottle, La Cueva High School, Albuquerque, N.M.; Mary de Lopez, La Cueva High School, Albuquerque, N.M.

Martin Doyle, McKee Technical High School, Brooklyn, N.Y.; David Flaccus, Ithaca High School, Freeville, N.Y.; Laura Johnson, Sackets Harbor Central School, Watertown, N.Y.; Paul Maher, West Seneca East Senior High School, Buffalo; Denise Nichols, Cornwall Central High School, Cornwall-on-Hudson, N.Y.; Phyllis B. Pereira, Spencer-Van Etten High School, Spencer, N.Y.; John Valentino, Ketcham High School, Beacon, N.Y.; Vickie Wheaton, Horseheads High School, Big Flats, N.Y.; Elaine Zanicchi, Bronx High School of Science, Hawthorne, N.Y.

Barbara Sposet, Brooklyn High School, Seven Hills, N.C.; Connie Bowman, Hillsboro High School, Sardinia, Ohio; Elena Keyser, Moeller High School, Cincinnati; Nancy Moffitt, John Glenn High School, New Concord, Ohio; Mary Monte, Tallmadge High School, Akron, Ohio; Patricia Schramm, Licking Valley High School, Heath, Ohio; Laren A. Sekola, Warren Western Reserve High School, Warren, Ohio; Ronald B. Palma, Holland Hall School, Broken Arrow, Okla.

Becky Haskins, North Eugene and Sheldon High Schools, Eugene, Ore.; Patricia Warner, North Medford High School, Medford, Ore.; William Aust, Klinger and Log College Junior High School, Lahaska, Pa.; William Black, Abington Senior High School, Gwynedd Valley, Pa.; Gabriel Blanco, Bishop Conwell High School, Mechanicsville, Pa.; Howard Dunn, The Creighton School, Philadelphia; Ann O'Leary, Bethel Park High School, Pittsburgh; Joan Ruch, Gwynedd-Mercy Academy High School, Roslyn, Pa.; Stephen Wildfeuer, Mercersburg Academy, Mercersburg, Pa.

George Minardi, Barrington High School, Barrington, R.I.; Billie O. Edmonds, Spartanburg High School, Spartanburg, S.C.; Barbara K. Chandler, Bell High School, Arlington, Tex.; Johnnie Eng, Alamo Heights High School, San Antonio; Geneva Showalter, Millcreek Junior High School, Bountiful, Utah; Nereida Ramos, Charlotte Amalie High School, St. Thomas, V.I.; Linda Cannon, Stafford Senior High School, Fredericksburg, Va.; Virginia Layman, Williams High School, Alexandria, Va.; Kenneth Reed, McCluer High School, Glasgow, Va.; Jane Rieder, Carver Middle School, Chester, Va.; Anna Sheats, Foxcroft School, Middleburg, Va.

Kathleen Barker, Bothell High School, Kirkland, Wash.; O. Lynn Bolton, Nathan Hale High School, Hartland, Wis.; Donna Clementi, Appleton High School West, Appleton, Wis.; Cynthia Ellestad, Lake Mills High Schools, Madison, Wis.; Terry Huth, Wauwatosa West High School, Wauwatosa, Wis.; Cynthia Klas, Greenfield High School, Greenfield, Wis.; Lee Scharpf, Hartford Union High School, Hartford, Wis.; Kathryn Spencer, Merrill Senior High School, Merrill, Wis.

Vol. 06, Issue 24

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories