Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Bernard F. Barcio, a Latin teacher at Carmel (Ind.) High School, has been named Indiana's 1986 Teacher of the Year.

Bradley Blanchette, an English teacher at Colchester (Vt.) High School, has been named Vermont's 1986 Teacher of the Year.

Jacquelyne S. Caffey, a reading teacher at Davison Elementary School in Detroit, has been named the Michigan 1986 Teacher of the Year.

Karen U. Dorsch, a French teacher at Winnisquam Regional High School in Tilton, N.H., has been named New Hampshire's Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Paul Horst, professor emeritus of psychology at the University of Washington and co-founder of the Psychometric Society, has been chosen to receive the Award for Distinguished Service to Measurement, an award given annually by the Educational Testing Service for a lifetime of work that has had a major impact on the theoretical or practical developments in educational and psychological assessment.

Mickey Jefson, chairman of the business department and teacher/coordinator of business cooperative education at Andrew Jackson Senior High School in Jacksonville, Fla., has been named Outstanding Florida Secondary Business Educator by the Florida Business Education Association.

Robert H. Kirk, professor of health and safety education at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, has received the National Safety Council's Distinguished Service to Safety Award.

Robert F. Mange, a life-science, biology, and physiology teacher and "science-division leader" at Folsom (Calif.) High School, has been named California's 1986 Teacher of the Year.

Jane G. McKee, an English, language-arts, and drama teacher at Man (W.Va.) High School, has been named West Virginia Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Cleon F. Ochsner, a German teacher at Hastings (Neb.) Senior High School, has been named the 1986 Nebraska Teacher of the Year.

Brenda G. Opie, a 5th-grade teacher at Tritt Elementary School in Marietta, Ga., has been named the 1986 Georgia Teacher of the Year.

Randy Steinheimer, a 4th-grade teacher at J.H. Freeman Elementary School in Aurora, Ill., has been named the 1985-86 Illinois Teacher of the Year.

Gerald N. Tirozzi, Connecticut's education commissioner, has received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Michigan State University's college of education.

Donna Viveiros, a 2nd-grade teacher at Fall River (Mass.) Elementary School, has been named the 1986 Massachusetts Teacher of the Year.

Vol. 05, Issue 13

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories





Sponsor Insights

Free Ebook: How to Implement a Coding Program in Schools

Successful Intervention Builds Student Success

Effective Ways to Support Students with Dyslexia

Stop cobbling together your EdTech

Integrate Science and ELA with Informational Text

Can self-efficacy impact growth for ELLs?

Disruptive Tech Integration for Meaningful Learning

Building Community for Social Good

5 Resources on the Power of Interoperability from Unified Edtech

New campaign for UN World Teachers Day

5 Game-Changers in Today’s Digital Learning Platforms

Hiding in Plain Sight - 7 Common Signs of Dyslexia in the Classroom

The research: Reading Benchmark Assessments

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

All Students Are Language Learners: The Imagine Learning Language Advantage™

Shifting Mindsets: A Guide for Training Paraeducators to Think Differently About Challenging Behavior

How to Support All Students with Equitable Pathways

2019 K-12 Digital Content Report

3-D Learning & Assessment for K–5 Science

Climate Change, LGBTQ Issues, Politics & Race: Instructional Materials for Teaching Complex Topics

Closing the Science Achievement Gap

Evidence-based Coaching: Key Driver(s) of Scalable Improvement District-Wide

Advancing Literacy with Large Print

Research Sheds New Light on the Reading Brain

Tips for Supporting English Learners Through Personalized Approaches

Response to Intervention Centered on Student Learning

The Nonnegotiable Attributes of Effective Feedback

SEE MORE Insights >