Appointments and Honors

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

In the Districts

Farrell E. Hunsucker, finance officer for the Greensboro (N.C.) Public Schools, has been named associate superintendent of finance services for the Wake County (N.C.) Public Schools.

In the States

Roy Peters, associate director of the Oklahoma Department of Vocational-Technical Education has been selected director of the department, effective Jan. 1.

In the Associations

Betty J. Guatelli, a reading supervisor for Ramsey (N.J.) High School and an officer of the North Jersey International Reading Association, has been appointed chairperson of the New Jersey Principals and Supervisors Association.

Dale D. Hawley, director of secondary education for Cortland (N.Y.) Junior-Senior High School, has been named director of student activities for the National Association of Secondary School Principals, effective Jan. 1.

Kenneth V. Hilton, a member of the Delaware State Board of Education and a former mathematics teacher, has been elected president of the National Association of State Boards of Education.

Other Appointments

Gertrude M. Clarke, a physics teacher at Chatham (N.J.) Borough High School, has been named executive director of the New Jersey Business/Industry/Science Education Consortium in Hoboken, N.J.

James A. Kelly, president of the Spring Hill Center, Minneapolis-St. Paul, has been appointed president and chief operating officer of the Center for Creative Studies, a nonprofit corporation dedicated to the support and encouragement of education in the visual, performing, and literary arts.


Zelma Conerly, a social-studies and American-history teacher at Lawhon Junior High School in Tupelo, Miss., has been named Mississippi Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Guy R. Doud, a language-arts teacher at Brainerd (Minn.) High School, has been named Minnesota's 1985 Teacher of the Year.

Frank Douglas, a geography teacher at Craig Senior High School in Janesville, Wis., has been named Wisconsin High School Teacher of the Year for 1985.

Janice Fitzsimmons, a 1st-grade teacher at Walnut Ridge Elementary School in Vernon, N.J., has been named New Jersey's 1986 Teacher of the Year.

Hollister Jansen, principal of West High School in Green Bay, Wis., has been named Wisconsin High School Principal of the Year for 1985.

Karen Leggett, co-anchor for the morning radio newscast on WMAL-am in Washington, D.C., has received the School Bell Award from the Maryland State Teachers' Association for her five-part series of radio "spots" titled "Education: 2001, Hungry To Learn."

Mary N. Long, a teacher of first-year and second-year biology classes at Lyndon Baines Johnson High School in Austin, Tex., has been named Texas Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Charles H. Long Jr., a 5th-grade teacher at Stono Park Elementary School in Charleston, S.C., and works with the Charleston County School District's performing-arts program for gifted and talented students, has been named South Carolina's 1986 Teacher of the Year.

Nanci Maes, a 2nd-grade teacher at Riverview Elementary School in Wautoma, Wis., has been named Wisconsin Elementary Teacher of the Year for 1985.

Barbara Militzer, a Chapter 1 reading and mathematics specialist for grades 1-6 at Jefferson Elementary School in Beaver Dam, Wis., has been named Wisconsin Special Services Teacher of the Year for 1985.

Dennis R. Preis, an instructor of advanced mathematics and computer science at Parkway South High School in Manchester, Mo., has been named Missouri Teacher of the Year for 1985-86.

Charles Seymour, a teacher of instrumental music at Camden-Rockport (Me.) High School, has been named Maine's Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Norman O. Stockmeyer Sr., president of the Michigan State Board of Education has received the Outstanding Educational Leadership Award from the Michigan Elementary and Middle School Principals Association.

Paul Thoman, a mathematics teacher at Shattuck Junior High School in Neenah, Wis., has been named Wisconsin Middle School Teacher of the Year for 1985.

Anne VanDerwerker, a special-education teacher at Hamilton-Holmes Elementary School in King William County, Va., has been named the Virginia Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Robert Weber, principal of Onalaska (Wis.) Middle School, has been named Wisconsin Middle School Principal of the Year for 1985.

Alice M. Wolf, a Spanish and French teacher at Ottawa (Kan.) High School, has been named Kansas Teacher of the Year for 1986.

Joanne Yatvin, principal of Crestwood Elementary School in Madison, Wis., has been named Wisconsin Elementary School Principal of the Year for 1985.

The New York Alliance for the Public Schools has chosen five junior-high-school teachers from the New York City area to receive certificates for excellence in teaching and $1,000 each: Louise J. Brown, a social-studies teacher for the 7th and 8th grades at Intermediate School 195 in Manhattan; Thomas A. Covotsos, a science teacher at Intermediate School 44 in Manhattan; James S. Duffy, a mathematics teacher at Intermediate School 181 in the Bronx; Rebecca Fulton, a language-arts teacher at Intermediate School 271 in Brooklyn; Victoria Kowalski, a mathematics teacher at Walt Whitman Intermediate School in Brooklyn.

Vol. 05, Issue 11

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories