E.D. Recognizes Outstanding School Principals

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The principals of 55 elementary and middle schools were formally recognized in Washington late last month as outstanding educators by U.S. Secretary of Education William J. Bennett and Samuel G. Sava, executive director of the National Association of Elementary School Principals.

The principals were selected from each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Overseas Schools; three were chosen from private schools. Those honored include:

Alabama: Glenys T. Mason, Mary B. Austin Elementary School, Mobile

Alaska: Virginia R. Maesner, Sears Elementary School, Kenai

Arizona: Jean F. Loving, Washington Elementary School, Prescott

Arkansas: Edwin S. Jackson, McDermott Primary School, Little Rock

California: Charles E. Corr, Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School, Santa Clara

Colorado: David E. Rose, Henderson Elementary School, Henderson

Connecticut: Helen C. Martin, Ina E. Driscoll Elementary School, Wilton

Delaware: Paul G. Carlson, Anna P. Mote Elementary School, Wilmington

District of Columbia: Inez G. Wood, E.A. Clark Elementary School, Washington

Florida: Roland T. Montanus, Robert H. Prine Elementary School, Bradenton

Georgia: Guy W. Sims, Fox Elementary School, Columbus

Hawaii: Betty S. Shishido, Kaimiloa Elementary School, Ewa Beach

Idaho: Dan Hicks, Borah Elementary School, Coeur d'Alene

Illinois: C. Richard Ellis, Hufford Junior High School, Joliet

Indiana: Charlie D. Popplewell, James Whitcomb Riley Elementary School, New Castle

Iowa: Duane T. Boehmke, Denver Elementary School, Denver

Kansas: Gerald L. Duncan, Mary Herbert Elementary School, Emporia

Kentucky: Nancy W. West, Stonewall Elementary School, Lexington

Louisiana: Henry M. Soileau, Vinton Elementary School, Vinton

Maine: Suzanne I. McGee, Bloomfield and North Elementary Schools, Skowhegan

Maryland: Edna May Merson, Lansdowne Elementary School, Baltimore

Massachusetts: C. Kenneth Delani, Josiah Haynes School, Sudbury

Michigan: Gerald A. Jennings, Mars and Sylvester Elementary Schools, Berrien Springs

Minnesota: Robert J. Ziegler, Rockford Elementary School, Rockford

Mississippi: James P. Grissom, Eastlawn Elementary School, Pascagoula

Missouri: Otis V. Wheeler Jr., Ridgeway Elementary School, Columbia

Montana: Warren L. Morehouse, Four Georgians Elementary School, Helena

Nebraska: Delbert L. Emerson, Evelyn Kahoa Elementary School, Lincoln

Nevada: Judy M. Doctor, Rita Cannan School, Reno

New Hampshire: David Michaud, Stratham Memorial School, Stratham

New Jersey: Thomas M. Niland, Pomona and Sixth Avenue Elementary Schools, Smithville

New Mexico: Kenneth C. Lachmann, Inez Elementary School, Albuquerque

New York: Thomas N. Schwob, Thomas Edison Elementary School, Tonawanda

North Carolina: Vera W. Taylor, Brevard Middle School, Brevard

North Dakota: Wayne A. Peterson, Viking Elementary School, Grand Forks

Ohio: Georgia L. Mixon, Buhrer Elementary School, Cleveland

Oklahoma: Roger E. Tomlinson, Charles William Eliot School, Tulsa

Oregon: Gary D. Salyers, Linwood and Wichita Elementary Schools, Milwaukie

Pennsylvania: M. Anne McDaniel, Locust Grove and Pleasant View Elementary Schools, York

Rhode Island: James F. Cofone, Gladstone Street School, Cranston

South Carolina: Marilynn C. Williams, Plain Elementary School, Simpsonville

South Dakota: Raymond K. Willard, Longfellow Elementary School, Mitchell

Tennessee: Marvin D. Lane, Lookout Mountain Elementary School, Lookout Mountain

Texas: David Walvoord, Oak Dale Elementary School, Amarillo

Utah: Lincoln J. Card, Edgemont Elementary School, Provo

Vermont: David A. Ford, Craftsbury Schools, Craftsbury Common

Virginia: Lillian M. Brinkley, Crossroads Elementary School, Norfolk

Washington: James C. Van Matre, Medical Lake Elementary School, Medical Lake

West Virginia: Lois S. Casto, Ripley Elementary School, Ripley

Wisconsin: Thomas J. O'Hearn, Highlands Elementary School, Appleton

Wyoming: Bruce Heimbuck, Guernsey-Sunrise Elementary School, Guernsey

Department of Defense Dependents School: F. Ronald Warner, MacArthur Elementary School, Clark Air Base, APO San Francisco

Private Schools: Carl J. Eastvold, Gloria Dei Lutheran School, Sacramento, Calif.; Bonnie J. Pryor, Saint Cecilia's Cathedral Elementary School, Omaha; Elizabeth A. Costello, St. Rose of Lima School, Denver.

Vol. 05, Issue 06

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories