Chiefs To Be Elected in Five States

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Incumbent chief state school officers in four states face re-election bids on Nov. 6 and voters in a fifth state will chose a new school chief following the incumbent's decision to retire.

Indiana. Harold H. Negley, a Republican who has held the state's top school post since 1973, is being challenged by Ray Schele, a political science professor at Ball State University.

Montana. The Democratic candidate, Don Driscoll, a retired school administrator, is challenging the Republican incumbent, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Edward F. Argenbright.

North Carolina. The Democrat-ic incumbent, A. Craig Phillips, is opposed by Gene Baker, principal of Wayne County Elementary School.

North Dakota. Joseph C. Crawford, the incumbent state superintendent, has chosen not to seek re-election. The Democratic candidate is Wayne Sanstead and the Republican candidate is Larry Nudell.

Washington. Frank B. Brouilette, the immediate past president of the Council of Chief State School Officers, is opposed by State Representative Shirley Galloway, chairman of the chamber's education committee. (Candidates for the state superintendency run on a nonpartisan ballot.)

--tm & jft

Vol. 04, Issue 09

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories