The Members of The Civil-Rights Commission

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The members of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights are:

  • Clarence M. Pendleton Jr., chairman, a Republican appointed by President Reagan, president of Pendleton and Associates, an investment firm in San Diego, Calif.
  • Morris B. Abram, vice-chairman, a Democrat appointed by the President, a partner with the law office of Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton, and Garrison in New York.
  • Mary F. Berry, a Democrat appointed by House Speaker Thomas P. O'Neill Jr., a professor of history and law at Howard University in Washington.
  • Esther G. Buckley, a Republican appointed by the President, a high-school teacher from Laredo, Tex.
  • Robert A. Destro, a Democrat appointed by House Minority Leader Robert H. Michel, an assistant professor of law at Catholic University in Washington.
  • John H. Bunzel, a Democrat appointed by the President, a senior research fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.
  • Blandina C. Ramirez, a Republican appointed by Senate Minority Leader Robert C. Byrd, director of development at the InterCultural Research Association in San Antonio, Tex.
  • Francis S. Guess, a Republican appointed by Senate Majority Leader Howard H. Baker Jr., commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Labor, Nashville.
  • The commission's staff director is Linda Chavez.--tm

    Vol. 03, Issue 18, Page 16

    Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
    Ground Rules for Posting
    We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
    All comments are public.

    Back to Top Back to Top

    Most Popular Stories