Honors and Deaths

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

Clair Deloria, social-studies teacher at Liverpool (N.Y.) High School, has been named Teacher of the Year for 1984 by the New York State Education Department.

George Hillman, vice president of the Suffolk (N.Y.) II Board of Cooperative Educational Services and a school-board member for 26 years, has received the Everett R. Dyer Award for Distinguished School Board Service from the New York State School Boards Association, an award given annually to a present or former school-board member who has displayed "exceptionally dedicated service" to the children of public schools in New York State.

Robert F. Holl, superintendent of schools in Moorestown, N.J., and one of three founders of Academic Technologies Inc., has been chosen to receive the Distinguished Educator Award from the New Jersey Council of Education.

Edna Lovell, teacher at Cheyenne Wells (Colo.) Elementary School, has been named Colorado's Conservation Teacher of the Year by the Colorado Association of Soil Conservation Districts, the Allis Chalmers Company, and the Colorado Department of Education.

Donald R. Miller, teacher of learning-disabled students at Roseau (Minn.) High School, has been named Minnesota Teacher of the Year by the Minnesota Education Association.

Harry O'Connell, 3-grade teacher at Madison Elementary School in Manitowoc, Wis., has been named Teacher of the Year representing elementary schools by the Wisconsin State Department of Public Instruction and has been selected as Wisconsin's nominee to the National Teacher of the Year program.

Gwen Pasby, 1st-grade teacher Northeast Elementary School in Elk City, Okla., has been named 1983 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year by the Oklahoma State Department of Education.

Thelma Stevens, art teacher at West Hempstead High School on Long Island in New York City and co-author of Super Sculpture, Using Science, Technology, and Natural Phenomena in Sculpture, has been named the 1983 New York State Art Educator of the Year by the National Art Education Association.

The Joint Council on Economic Education has chosen 10 educators, eight of them secondary-school teachers, to receive "traveling fellowships" to Japan, where they will conduct research that will lead to curriculum-development programs for their schools, school systems, and institutions. The winners, chosen from applications submitted from around the country are: Leo E. Benson, teacher, Evanston (Ill.) Township High School; Alan E. Blakeman, teacher, Montpelier (Vt.) High School; Paul Copley, teacher, Sunset High School in Beaverton, Ore.; Catherine S. Davoll, teacher, W.J. Keenan High School in Columbia, S.C.; Gerald F. Draayer, associate professor of economics, Boise State University, Idaho; Carl Jette, teacher, Nicolet High School in Wauwatosa, Wis.; Burton R. Lindfors, teacher, Woodbridge High School in Tustin, Calif; Helen Montgomery, teacher, Bellingham (Wash.) High School; James B. O'Neill, director of the Center for Economic Education at the University of Delaware; and Mary G. Oppegard, teacher, Shawnee (Okla.) High School.


Edwin P. Hildebrand, 61, former accreditation supervisor for the Colorado Department of Education, Aug. 8 in Arvada, Colo.

Mary Ann Marceron Piersma, 42, a teacher at Grace Episcopal Day School in Silver Spring, Md., until she retired earlier this year and formerly a teacher in other public and private schools in Maryland, Oct. 21 in Silver Spring, Md.

Calvin Rubens, 54, chairman of the business-education department and teacher of business classes at Montgomery Blair High School in Silver Spring, Md., Oct. 12 in Takoma Park, Md.

Franklin D. Stone, 66, an internationally known authority on educational administration and a faculty member at the University of Iowa, where he recently concluded a study of the secondary-school administrators of 11 nations, Oct. 21 en route to Jamestown, N.D.

Vol. 03, Issue 09

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories