Proposed Fields of Certification

August 02, 1989 1 min read

Copyright 1989, Editorial Each certificate will reflect the professional knowledge and skills that all teachers should possess, the knowledge particular to the developmental level of the teacher’s students, and the teacher’s content and discipline-area knowledge. Each assessment will require a demonstration of depth, as well as breadth, of knowledge.

In some fields, such as middle-childhood and early-adolescence education, teachers could choose to be certified either as generalists or specialists in teaching a particular discipline.

In addition, teachers at various grade levels could choose more than one certification category to reflect the structure of schooling within their district. For example, a 5th-grade teacher could choose to receive a certificate in early- and middle-childhood education or in middle childhood and early adolescence.

Early Childhood (Prekindergarten-Grade 3)

Early and Middle Childhood (Grades K-6)

Middle Childhood and Early Adolescence (Grades 4-9)


English Language Arts



Social Studies and History

Adolescence and Young Adulthood (Grades 7-12)




Social studies and history

Vocational education: agriculture, business, health occupations, home economics, and industry/technology.

Early Childhood through Young Adulthood (Grades K-12)


Foreign language: Spanish, French, and others.

Limited-English-proficient students (e.g., English as a second language, bilingual education).


Physical education/health

Special education and exceptional-needs students, moderately handicapped, severely and profoundly handicapped, speech-impaired, hard of hearing and deaf, visually handicapped, deaf and blind, gifted and talented.

A version of this article appeared in the August 02, 1989 edition of Education Week as Proposed Fields of Certification