People News

January 23, 1991 1 min read

The Baltimore school board outlined procedures last week for the selection of a replacement for Richard C. Hunter, the superintendent whose contract they unanimously voted last month not to renew when it expires July 31.

Differences between the superintendent and the board have been simmering for years, said Douglas J. Neilson, a district spokesman. Board members disagreed with what they called Mr. Hunter’s “top down” approach to education reform.

Mr. Hunter has been superintendent since August 1988.

John Williams, a high-school science teacher at Liverpool (N.Y.) High School, is the first recipient of the National Football League’s Teacher of the Year award.

Paul Tagliabue, commissioner of the nfl, created the award to honor precollegiate teachers who positively influenced the academic development of professional football players. A panel of distinguished educators, including Secretary of Education-designate Lamar Alexander, chose the winner.

Tim Green, a linebacker for the Atlanta Falcons, nominated Mr. Williams. Mr. Green attended Liverpool High in the 1970’s.

Mr. Williams will receive a $5,000 prize and will be honored at the Pro Bowl in February; his school will receive a $10,000 scholarship fund named for him and Mr. Green.

A version of this article appeared in the January 23, 1991 edition of Education Week as People News