Next in Line

January 10, 2001 1 min read

If he is confirmed by the Senate, Rod Paige will be the seventh U.S. secretary of education. Here are the six people who have held the post so far:

Secretary Tenure in Office President

Shirley M. Hufstedler Dec. 6, 1979-Jan. 20, 1981 Carter

Terrel H. Bell Jan. 23, 1981-Dec. 31, 1984 Reagan

William J. Bennett Feb. 6, 1985-Sept. 20, 1988 Reagan

Lauro F. Cavazos Sept. 20, 1988-Dec. 15, 1990 Reagan, Bush

Lamar Alexander March 18, 1991-Jan. 2, 1993 Bush

Richard W. Riley Jan. 21, 1993-present Clinton

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Education.

Related Tags:

A version of this article appeared in the January 10, 2001 edition of Education Week as reax chart