Members of Council on Standards and Testing

June 12, 1991 2 min read

Following are the individuals invited last week by the National Education Goals Panel to serve on its “interim council on standards and testing":

Co-chairmen: Gov. Carroll A. Campbell Jr. of South Carolina; Gov. Roy Romer of Colorado.

Bush Administration representatives: Lynne V. Cheney, chairman, National Endowment for the Humanities; David T. Kearns, deputy secretary, Education Department; Walter Massey, director, National Science Foundation; Roger B. Porter, assistant to the President for economic and domestic policy.

Members of Congress: Senator Edward M. Kennedy of Massachusetts, chairman, Labor and Human Resources Committee, or his designee; Senator Orrin G. Hatch of Utah, ranking Republican, Labor and Human Resources Committee, or his designee; Representative William D. Ford of Michigan, chairman, Education and Labor Committee, or his designee; Representative Bill Goodling, ranking Republican, Education and Labor Committee, or his designee.

Representatives of the goals panel’s resource group on student achievement: Chester E. Finn Jr., professor of education and public policy, Vanderbilt University; David W. Hornbeck, former state superintendent of schools, Maryland; Lauren B. Resnick, director, Learning Research and Development Center, University of Pittsburgh; Marshall S. Smith, dean, graduate school of education, Stanford University.

State legislators: Senator John Hainkel, Louisiana; Senator Carlos Cisneros, New Mexico.

Chief state school officer: Eve M. Bither, commissioner of education, Maine.

Teacher representatives: Mary V. Bicouvaris, teacher, Bethel High School, Hampton, Va., and 1989 Teacher of the Year; Iris M. Carl, president, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics; Keith B. Geiger, president, National Education Association; Albert Shanker, president, American Federation of Teachers.

Local school officials: Brian Benzel, superintendent, Edmonds (Wash.) School District; Ramon C. Cortines, superintendent, San Francisco Unified School District; Martha C. Fricke, member, Ashland-Greenwood Board of Education, Ashland, Neb., and immediate past president, National School Boards Association; Sandra Hassan, principal, Beach Channel High School, New York.

Higher-education representative: Michael T. Nettles, vice president for assessment, University of Tennessee.

At-large members: William E. Brock, former U.S. Secretary of Labor; Mark D. Musick, president, Southern Regional Education Board.

A version of this article appeared in the June 12, 1991 edition of Education Week as Members of Council on Standards and Testing