How Education Committee Members Fared

November 15, 2000 1 min read

All five members of the Senate education panel who were up for re-election won their races. On the House side, only one member had definitively lost his re- election bid at press time. One race was too close to call.

Jump to House committee results.

Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions
(18 members)
Republicans Democrats
James M. Jeffords, Vt., chairman * Edward M. Kennedy, Mass., ranking member
Judd Gregg, N.H. Christopher J. Dodd, Conn.
Bill Frist, Tenn. Tom Harkin, Iowa
Mike DeWine, Ohio Barbara A. Mikulski, Md.
Michael B. Enzi, Wyo. Jeff D. Bingaman, N.M.
Tim Hutchinson, Ark. Paul Wellstone, Minn.
Susan Collins, Maine Patty Murray, Wash.
Sam Brownback, Kan. Jack Reed, R.I.
Chick Hagel, Neb.
Jeff Sessions, Ala.

Red indicates members re- elected.
(Only five members were up for re-election.)

Red indicates members re- elected.

Committee on Education and the Workforce
(49 members and one vacancy)



*William F. Goodling , R-Pa., chairman
Thomas E. Petri, Wis., vice chairman *William (Bill) Clay, Mo., ranking member
Marge Roukema, N.J. George Miller, Calif.
Cass Ballenger, N.C. Dale E. Kildee, Mich.
*Bill Barrett, Neb. Major R. Owens, N.Y.
John A. Boehner, Ohio Donald M. Payne, N.J.
Peter Hoekstra, Mich. Patsy T. Mink, Hawaii
Howard P. “Buck” McKeon, Calif. Robert E. Andrews, N.J.
Michael N. Castle, Del. Tim Roemer, Ind.
Sam Johnson, Texas Robert C. Scott, Va.
*James M. Talent, Mo. defeated Lynn C. Woolsey, Calif.
James C. Greenwood, Pa. Carlos A. Romero- Barceló, Puerto Rico2defeated
Lindsey O. Graham, S.C. Chaka Fattah, Pa.
Mark E. Souder, Ind. Ruben Hinojosa, Texas
*David M. McIntosh, Ind. Carolyn McCarthy, N.Y.
Charlie Norwood, Ga. John F. Tierney, Mass.
Ron Paul, Texas Ron Kind, Wis.
Bob Schaffer, Colo. Loretta Sanchez, Calif.
Fred Upton, Mich. Harold E. Ford, Jr., Tenn.
Nathan Deal, Ga. Dennis J. Kucinich, Ohio
Van Hilleary, Tenn. David Wu, Ore.
Vernon J. Ehlers, Mich. Rush D. Holt, N.J.3undeclared
*Matt Salmon, Ariz. VACANT SEAT
Tom Tancredo, Colo.
Ernie Fletcher, Ky.
Jim DeMint, S.C.
Johnny Isakson, Ga.
Matthew G. Martinez, Calif.1, Ga.
1Rep. Martinez lost in the Democratic primary earlier this year. He later switched parties.
2Delegate Romero-Barcelo lost his re-election bid.
3A winner had not been declared in this race as of press time.

A version of this article appeared in the November 15, 2000 edition of Education Week as How Education Committee Members Fared