Experts

Editorial Projects in Education


In its role as the premium publisher of K-12 education content, Editorial Projects in Education employs reporters, editors, and researchers with in-depth knowledge of school-related issues and data. The following staff experts are available for media interviews and panel participation on the topics listed.

To contact experts, email them individually or contact the Library at library@epe.org or by calling 301-280-3100.

Education: Subject-Matter Experts

Evie Blad
eblad@epe.org
school safety, student discipline, and student wellness

Kevin Bushweller
kbushweller@epe.org
education technology, industry and innovation

Sean Cavanagh
scavanagh@epe.org
education technology, industry and innovation

Michelle Davis
mdavis@epe.org
education technology

Catherine Gewertz
cgewertz@epe.org
common standards and assessments, literacy

Alyson Klein
aklein@epe.org
federal education policy

Lesli A. Maxwell
lmaxwell@epe.org
English-language learners, bilingual education, districts and leadership

Erik Robelen
erobelen@epe.org
curriculum across the content areas, education philanthropy, state and federal education policy

Christina Samuels
csamuels@epe.org
special education, early childhood education

Stephen Sawchuk
ssawchuk@epe.org
teacher policy, teachers' unions, teacher education, and assessment

Sarah D. Sparks
ssparks@epe.org
education research

Christopher B. Swanson
cswanson@epe.org
educational research and policy analysis, federal and state education policy, high school graduation, dropout, and completion issues, high school reform, assessments and accountability, school finance, social and economic context of education

Andrew Ujifusa
aujifusa@epe.org
state education policy

Debra Viadero
dviadero@epe.org
education research, districts, charters and choice, student wellness, safety, and discipline

Internet Policy

Paul Hyland
phyland@epe.org
internet policy, privacy, security, cybersecurity, technology management, web technology, nonprofit technology, technology strategy, social media strategy, content management, user experience, information architecture, intellectual property, copyright, open source, open content, open education resources

Nonprofit Journalism & Education Policy

Virginia Edwards
gined@epe.org
Education policy, practice, and research in the news, EPE products and services, and the changing landscape of journalism, media, and publishing