News in Brief

NCLB Waivers Renewed for Four States

Article Tools
  • PrintPrinter-Friendly
  • EmailEmail Article
  • ReprintReprints
  • CommentsComments

The U.S. Department of Education has approved additional renewals of state flexibility on mandates of the No Child Left Behind Act for Florida, Idaho, Ohio, and South Dakota. The action leaves just a handful of waiver states waiting in the wings.

This round secured only one-year renewals, and South Dakota's waiver was put on "high risk" status.

Each of the states, the department said, is making progress on college- and career-ready standards and assessments; differentiated systems of recognition; accountability; and teacher- and principal-evaluation and -support systems. But they also all need to make more adjustments to fully meet waiver commitments.

Vol. 35, Issue 03, Page 4

Published in Print: September 9, 2015, as NCLB Waivers Renewed for Four States
Related Stories
Commenting temporarily disabled due to scheduled maintenance. Check back soon.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories