Published Online: January 26, 1982

Century III Leaders Selected From Among 300,000 Students

Out of a field of some 300,000 high-school seniors, 102 have been named Century III Leaders--two from each state and the District of Columbia.

The annual scholarship competition is based not on grades or test scores, but on leadership ability, community involvement, and awareness of current events.

Each of the state winners will receive a $1,500 college scholarship. In March, they will compete for additional scholarships at the national Century III Leaders conference in Williamsburg, Va. The national winner will receive a $10,000 scholarship, and nine semifinalists will receive an additional $500 each.

The program, sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals and underwritten by Shell Oil Company, is in its seventh year.

Below are the names of the state winners:

Century III Leaders

Alabama: Glenda D. Hunt, Cold Springs H.S., Hanceville; Donald W. Murphy, Auburn H.S., Auburn.

Alaska: Terra D. Vandergaw, Diamond-Mears Secondary School, Anchorage; Robert D. Hancock, Bartlett-Begich H.S., Elmendorf.

Arizona: Sharon Hausman, Central H.S., Phoenix; Steven Wilson, Mountain View H.S., Mesa.

Arkansas: John K. Bush, McClellan H.S., Little Rock; Polly J. Price, Russellville H.S., Russellville.

California: Bella Shoikhet, Henry T. Gunderson H.S., San Jose; Scott Kovalik, Leland H.S., San Jose.

Colorado: Natalie M. Hanlon, Cherry Creek H.S., Englewood; Stephan B. Schweissing, Rocky Ford H.S., Rocky Ford.

Connecticut: Timothy Peterson, Mazuk H.S., Monroe; Michael Kischkum, Mark T. Sheehan H.S., Wallingford.

Delaware: Renee K. Kottenhahn, Brandywine H.S., Wilmington; Stefania Daliani, Holy Cross H.S., Dover;

District of Columbia: James Lucier Jr., St. Anselm's Abbey School, Leesburg, Va.; Aaron S. Brodsky, School Without Walls, Washington.

Florida: Darin H. Davis, Brandon Senior H.S., Brandon; Ann M. Gennarelli, Lake Brantley H.S., Maitland.

Georgia: Ann Heard, Brookstone School, Columbus; Scott Womack, North Fulton H.S., Atlanta.

Hawaii: Francine M. Torres, St. Anthony Jr.-Sr. H.S., Kahului; James T. Shiroma, Waianae H.S., Waianae.

Idaho: Vicki Tesnohlidek, Fruitland H.S., Fruitland; David Brizzee, Skyline H.S., Idaho Falls.

Illinois: Joseph J. Casper III, Elk Grove H.S., Elk Grove; Kenneth B. Bloom, Homewood-Fossmoor H.S., Hazel Crest.

Indiana: Amy S. Coolidge, Highland Senior H.S., Highland; Kurt G. Rohrbach, Columbia City Joint H.S., Columbia.

Iowa: Joel Graham, Washington H.S., Cherokee; Suzanna deBacca, Ballard Community H.S., Huxley.

Kansas: Lisa White, Goodland H.S., Goodland; Daniel Fink, Manhattan H.S., Manhattan.

Kentucky: Lisa Catron, Tates Creek Senior H.S., Lexington; Brian Harney, Madisonville-N. Hopkins H.S., Madisonville.

Louisana: Tina M. Blythe, Leesville H.S., Leesville; Eric P. Lormand, Rayne H.S., Rayne.

Maine: Vance Trefethen, Bangor H.S., Bangor; Julie Wentworth, Belfast Area H.S., Belfast.

Maryland: David Leitao, Pocomoke H.S., Pocomoke; Jeffrey Schneider, Walter Johnson H.S., Bethesda.

Massachusetts: Kevin Birch, Bishop Feehan H.S., Attleboro; Paul O'Brien, Boston Latin School, Boston.

Michigan: Tim Clark, Coloma H.S., Coloma; Sandra Decker, Marian H.S., Troy.

Minnesota: Paul Moore, Worthington H.S., Worthington; Christine Morris, Glenwood Central H.S., Glenwood.

Mississippi: Gerald D. Shepard, Washington School, Stoneville; Noel E. Primos, Jackson Preparatory School, Jackson.

Missouri: Julie Seifert, Park Hill Senior H.S., Kansas City; Cassing Hammond, Greenwood Laboratory School, Springfield.

Montana: William Mercer, Billings West H.S., Billings; Hal Dasinger, Billings Senior H.S., Shepherd.

Nebraska: Preeta Bansal, Lincoln East H.S., Lincoln; Paul Hahn, Creighton Preparatory H.S., Omaha.

Nevada: Robert Lytle, Chaparral H.S., Las Vegas; Michelle Pagni, Earl Wooster H.S., Reno.

New Hampshire: Brian M. Benoit, St. Thomas Aquinas H.S., Somersworth; Lisa S. Marshall, Winnisquam Regional H.S., Tilton.

New Jersey: Kenneth Klemm, Butler H.S., Bloomingdale; William Whyman, Rumson-Fair Haven Regional H.S., Fair Haven.

New Mexico: Laura Gomez, Valley H.S., Albuquerque; Shelley Cline, Cobre H.S., Silver City.

New York: Kurtis Fletcher, Frewsburg Central H.S., Frewsburg; Shelly Klein, Half Hollow Hills H.S. East, Dix Hills.

North Carolina: Jay A. Everette, John T. Hoggard H.S., Wilmington; James H. Slaughter, A.L. Brown H.S., Kannapolis.

North Dakota: Loren J. Borud, Minot H.S., Minot; Edward B. Magarian, Fargo North H.S., Fargo.

Ohio: Craig W. Long, Wynford H.S., Bucyrus; Daniel H. Pink, Bexley H.S., Columbus.

Oklahoma: Bari Catherwood, C.E. Donart H.S., Stillwater; Scott Payzant, Classen H.S., Oklahoma City.

Oregon: David P. Gruber, Lake Oswego H.S., Lake Oswego; Daena J. Goldsmith, Redmond H.S., Redmond.

Pennsylvania: Albert M. Liberatore Jr., Bishop Hannan H.S., Scranton; Susan P. Harding, Pennsbury H.S., Yardley.

Rhode Island: Michael Andrews, Cranston H.S. West, Cranston; John P. Bouffard, St. Raphael Academy, Pawtucket.

South Carolina: Karen Johannes, Middleton H.S., Charleston; Edward Wendt, James H. Hammond Academy, Columbia.

South Dakota: Ronald J. Place, Huron Senior H.S., Huron; Elizabeth A. Whealy, Tri-Valley H.S., Colton.

Tennessee: Edmund L. Prater, Mt. Juliet H.S., Old Hickory; Michael I. Lebovitz, The McCallie School, Chattanooga.

Texas: Angela Allen, East Chambers H.S., Winnie; Linda Dufficy, L.D. Bell H.S., Hurst.

Utah: John Murphy, Judge Memorial Catholic H.S., Salt Lake City; Stacy Kuipers, San Juan H.S., Blanding.

Vermont: Michael G. Thorne, Mount Saint Joseph Academy, Cuttingsville; Christopher D. Roy, Spaulding H.S., Barre.

Virginia: Roger S. Pence, Spotswood Senior H.S., McGaheysville; Anne E. Birn, West Springfield H.S., Springfield.

Washington: Laura McLatchy, Mount Vernon H.S., Mount Vernon; Tara McKelvey, Interlake H.S., Bellevue.

West Virginia: Gregory Ruf, Williamstown H.S., Williamstown; June Harmon, Wheeling Park H.S., Wheeling.

Wisconsin: Susan Miller, Appleton H.S. East, Appleton; Catherine Coy, Eau Claire Memorial H.S., Eau Claire.

Wyoming: Darren W. Lynde, Campbell County H.S., Gillette; Melody S. Jacobson, Kelly Walsh H.S., Casper.

Web Only

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Login | Register
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Back to Top Back to Top

Most Popular Stories





Sponsored Whitepapers